Search at Public records Pro Now
ME Wedding Officiants
Wedding Officiants

Marriage Laws United States Maine Maine Wedding Officiants

Marriage license Laws in the state of Maine, here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the Maine marriage requirements before applying for the Maine marriage license application.

Local Maine Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Maine officiants. You choose the best ME Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Obtaining a Marriage License in Maine

ID Requirement:

Picture ID such as a driver's license along with a certified copy of your birth certificates. You should know your Social Security numbers. You should both also know your parent's full name, mother's maiden name, and the states in which you were born.

Application Requirement

Both the bride and groom must appear in person at the time of applying.

Residency Requirement:

If both persons reside in the State of Maine, in the same municipality they need to file with their municipal clerk. If both persons reside in the State of Maine, in separate municipalities, they must file with at least ONE municipal clerk, they do not need to file with both. If one party to a marriage is a resident and one party resides outside the State of Maine, then they need to file intentions at the office of the clerk where the resident resides. If both parties to a marriage are non-residents of the State of Maine, then they must file intentions at ANY municipal office in the State of Maine and they are then free to marry anywhere within the state.

Waiting Period:

No waiting period in Maine.

Previously Married Persons:

Previously married persons must still provide certified documentation showing that their previous marriage has ended and that they are free to marry.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

$15.00 PER PERSON, a total of $30.00. This charge does not include the cost of a certified copy of the marriage certificate after the marriage is solemnized. The bride and groom are responsible to purchase that after the license has been filed. The fees for that are:

• $7.00 at the municipal office level ($3.00 for additional copies ordered at the same time)

• $10.00 at the state level ($4.00 for additional copies ordered at the same time)

Other Tests:

No blood test requirement.

Under 18:

Applicants must be over 18 years old.
• A license shall not be issued to anyone under the age of 18 without written parental consent.
•  A license shall not be issued to anyone under the age of 16 without written parental consent and the written consent of a judge.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Cousin Marriage:

Yes. First cousins may marry in Maine provided they present the municipal clerk with a certificate of genetic counseling from a physician.


As of July 1, 1981 the Secretary of State's Office no longer requires a license be issued for ministers of the gospel for the purpose of solemnizing marriages in Maine. Currently, Maine relies solely on the language of the law regarding who is authorized to solemnize marriages in Maine. According to Title 19-A M.R.S.A. section 655, the following persons are authorized to perform marriages in Maine:

A. If a resident of this State:

(1) A justice or judge;

(2) A lawyer admitted to the Maine Bar; or

(3) A notary public under Title 4, chapter 19, and

B. Whether a resident or nonresident of this State and whether or not a citizen of the United States:
(1) An ordained minister of the gospel;

(2) A clerick engaged in the service of the religious body to which the cleric belongs; or

(3) A person licensed to preach by an association of ministers, religious seminary or ecclesiastical body.

Other Requirements:

Persons are required to provide social security numbers when applying for a Maine marriage license.


License is valid for 90 days.
The license can only be used within the State of Maine.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Vital Statistics
Office of Vital Statistics
State House Station #11
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Phone: (207) 287-3184

It is important that you verify all information with your local city or town clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please Note:

State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to  Please include the state and county information.

Maine County Clerk's Office
Auburn City Clerk
Auburn, ME

Augusta City Clerk
Augusta, ME

Alfred Town Clerk
Alfred, ME
207.324.3521 x 204

Bangor City Clerk
Bangor, ME

Bath City Clerk
Bath, ME

Belfast City Clerk
Belfast, ME

Dover-Foxcroft Town Clerk
Dover Foxcroft, ME

Ellsworth City Clerk
Ellsworth, ME

Farmington Town Clerk
Farmington, ME

Houlton Town Clerk
Houlton, ME

Machias Town Clerk
Machias, ME

Paris Town Clerk
South Paris, ME

Portland City Clerk
Portland, ME

Rockland City Clerk
Rockland, ME

Skowhegan Town Clerk
Skowhegan, ME

Wiscasset Town Clerk
Wiscasset, ME

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Maine.

Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants

© 2014