State of Mississippi Marriage License, MS
Mississippi marriage fee is $21-24 and the license doesn’t expire once it has been issued. The legal age to marry is 21, females 15 and males 17 can marry with parents petition and judicial waiver. No blood test or residency requirements.
State of Mississippi
Marriage License Requirements
Marriage License Fee: $21-24
Marriage Law Requirements for Mississippi:
Both Parties must be 21 years of age to get married in Mississippi.
Picture ID and Proof of age is required.
Both Parties must be present for the application.
To obtain a marriage license, both parties must apply in person your at local county Circuit Clerk’s office.
The fee for a Mississippi marriage license varies by county and is required at the time of application.
There is no waiting period or blood tests in Mississippi.
Be sure to contact your local county Circuit Clerk’s office well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the clerk will be in the office.
Mississippi Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage Law Requirements for Mississippi Marriage Licenses:
Marriage Application Requirement Mississippi: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
The following information is required on the marriage application:
Full names and addresses of both parties applying for marriage.
Names and addresses of the parents of both parties applying (maiden name of mother).
Age, date of birth must be in English, and state of birth (or foreign country).
Proof of age (e.g., driver’s license, birth certificate, school record, etc.)
Highest grade completed in school.
Number of previous marriages.
How the last marriage ended (divorce, death, etc.)
Date last marriage ended (bring proof of divorce if it was within the last six months.)
In no event shall a license be issued by the circuit clerk when it appears to the circuit clerk that the applicants are, or either of them is, drunk or a person with mental illness or mental retardation to the extent that the clerk believes that the person does not understand the nature and consequences of the request.
It is important that you verify all information with your local county Circuit Clerk’s office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license.
Marriage ID Requirement Mississippi:
Both parties must present a valid Identification:
Life Insurance Record
Or any other official document evidencing age.
Marriage Residency Requirement Mississippi:
No. Mississippi does not have a residency requirement for marriage licenses.
Marriage Waiting Period Mississippi:
The license is effective immediately upon issuance.
Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records
If either party has been divorced within the last six (6) months, a copy of the divorce decree is required.
Marriage License Fee Mississippi:
The fee for a Mississippi marriage license varies by county and is required at the time of application. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.
Marriage Blood Test Mississippi:
As of July 1, 2012, a blood test is no longer required to obtain a marriage license in Mississippi.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements Mississippi: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
If either applicant is younger than 21 years of age, parental consent is needed. Parent or guardian may come with the applicants. If the parent or guardian cannot appear in the office, the Out of Office Parental Consent Form must be printed, filled out, and notarized. A copy of the parent’s drivers license or ID is required along with the form to complete the application process.
Marriage licenses cannot be issued unless the male applicant is at least 17 years of age, and the female applicant is at least 15 years of age.
Proxy Marriages Mississippi:
Cousin Marriages Mississippi:
Common Law Marriages Mississippi:
Solemnize Marriages Mississippi:
Clergy, mayors, local Board of Supervisors members, and judges of the state of Mississippi Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit court, Chancery court, Justice court, or County court.[the_ad id="38147"]
Marriage Witness Mississippi:
Mississippi does not require witnesses.
Expiration Date of Marriage License Mississippi:
Mississippi marriage license has no expiration date.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage License
Department of Health and Human Services
Vital Statistics Bureau
111 N. Sanders, Room 205
Helena, MT 59620
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Additional information can be found on the Mississippi State Department of Health website.