Search Divorce Records

State of Texas Marriage License, TX

State of Texas marriage license fee is $82. Legal marriage age is 18, minimum age is 16/court-emancipated. No blood test. 72 hour wait period. Proxy marriages.

Local Officiants

State of Texas
Marriage License Requirements

Marriage License Fee: $71 – $88, varying by county.

Marriage Law Requirements for Texas Marriage Licenses:

  • Issuing a marriage license is the duty of the County Clerk and can be obtained in any county in Texas.
  • A marriage license issued in Texas is valid for a wedding ceremony held in any Texas county.
  • Minimum Age: 16. Applicants under the age of 18 must have a certified copy of their (long form) birth certificate issued in the last 10 years as well as court-emancipated.
  • Waiting Period: 72 hours. However, there is a 30-day waiting period after a divorce is granted within the state of Texas.
  • License Fees: Texas marriage license fee varies by county and is required at the time of application.
  • License Validity Time: 90 Days
  • Blood Test: Not Required.
  • Residency: Not Required.


Texas Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Marriage Law Requirements for Texas Marriage Licenses:

Anderson Andrews
Angelina Aransas
Archer Armstrong
Atascosa Austin
Bailey Bandera
Bastrop Baylor
Bee Bell
Bexar Blanco
Borden Bosque
Bowie Brazoria
Brazos Brewster
Briscoe Brooks
Brown Burleson
Burnet Caldwell
Calhoun Callahan
Cameron Camp
Carson Cass
Castro Chambers
Cherokee Childress
Clay Cochran
Coke Coleman
Collin Collingsworth
Colorado Comal
Comanche Concho
Cooke Coryell
Cottle Crane
Crockett Crosby
Culberson Dallam
Dallas Dawson
Deaf Smith Delta
Denton DeWitt
Dickens Dimmit
Donley Duval
Eastland Ector
Edwards Ellis
El Paso Erath
Falls Fannin
Fayette Fisher
Floyd Foard
Fort Bend Franklin
Freestone Frio
Gaines Galveston
Garza Gillespie
Glasscock Goliad
Gonzales Gray
Grayson Gregg
Grimes Guadalupe
Hale Hall
Hamilton Hansford
Hardeman Hardin
Harris Harrison
Hartley Haskell
Hays Hemphill
Henderson Hidalgo
Hill Hockley
Hood Hopkins
Houston Howard
Hudspeth Hunt
Hutchinson Irion
Jack Jackson
Jasper Jeff Davis
Jefferson Jim Hogg
Jim Wells Johnson
Jones Karnes
Kaufman Kendall
Kenedy Kent
Kerr Kimble
King Kinney
Kleberg Knox
Lamar Lamb
Lampasas La Salle
Lavaca Lee
Leon Liberty
Limestone Lipscomb
Live Oak Llano
Loving Lubbock
Lynn McCulloch
McLennan McMullen
Madison Marion
Martin Mason
Matagorda Maverick
Medina Menard
Midland Milam
Mills Mitchell
Montague Montgomery
Moore Morris
Motley Nacogdoches
Navarro Newton
Nolan Nueces
Ochiltree Oldham
Orange Palo Pinto
Panola Parker
Parmer Pecos
Polk Potter
Presidio Rains
Randall Reagan
Real Red River
Reeves Refugio
Roberts Robertson
Rockwall Runnels
Rusk Sabine
San Augustine San Jacinto
San Patricio San Saba
Schleicher Scurry
Shackelford Shelby
Sherman Smith
Somervell Starr
Stephens Sterling
Stonewall Sutton
Swisher Tarrant
Taylor Terrell
Terry Throckmorton
Titus Tom Green
Travis Trinity
Tyler Upshur
Upton Uvalde
Val Verde Van Zandt
Victoria Walker
Waller Ward
Washington Webb
Wharton Wheeler
Wichita Wilbarger
Willacy Williamson
Wilson Winkler
Wise Wood
Yoakum Young
Zapata Zavala


Texas Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Marriage Application Requirement Texas: Formal | Informal

There are two different types of marriage licenses in Texas, and basic requirements are the same for both types of marriage:

  • A “Formal marriage license” A formal marriage license can be obtained from any county in Texas and the marriage can be performed anywhere. If the marriage takes place outside of Texas, contact the appropriate state office, consulate or embassy to learn the marriage requirements for that state or country.

The following information is required on a marriage license application of both spouses, or party A and party B, the information needed for marriage license requirements is below:

  • Both parties must appear in person.
  • Both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Submit proof of identity and age.
  • Must know Social Security number.
  • Must Know city, county, and state where you were born.
  • Effective September 1, 2013 – A person who is incarcerated may not apply for a marriage license.


Marriage ID Requirement Texas:

Must have a valid, government-issued picture identification:

  • Driver's license
  • State ID
  • Passport
  • Military ID
  • Visa
  • Certified copy of birth certificate and valid photo ID

Marriage license requirements are always subject to change so it’s best to check with your County Clerk’s office to verify information and documents needed to obtain your license.


Marriage Waiting Period Texas:

  • There is a 72-hour waiting period to get married.
  • The 72-hour waiting period may be waived by court order.
  • Active duty military are exempt from the waiting period.


Marriage Residency Requirement Texas:

You do not have to be a resident of Texas.


Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

If either applicant has been recently divorced, the state requires a 30-day waiting period from the date of the filed divorce decree, unless waived by the court. Female applicants are required to submit a certified copy of final decree showing their restored maiden name if different from current identification.


Marriage License Fees Texas:

  • The marriage license fees varies from Texas county to county, so call ahead to your local County Clerk's office to find out the fee and ask what form of payment is accepted. In some cases, you may need to bring cash.
  • Couples completing the State Approved Pre-marital Education Course, Twogether in Texas, may have the formal license fee reduced to the County fee (up to $22) and the 72-hour waiting period waived by presenting the state-issued course completion certificate when applying for the license. Please visit to locate classes in your area.



Proxy Marriages Texas:

Yes, but marriage by proxy in Texas is limited to individuals serving in the military and stationed outside of the country.


Cousin Marriages Texas:



Common Law Marriages Texas:



Blood Test Requirement Texas:

No. Blood tests or medical examinations are not required in Texas.


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Marriage Age Requirements Texas: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

If an applicant is under the age of 18, must be accompanied by one parent, to sign legal consent. A minor must have a certified copy of birth certificate, photo I.D. and Social Security card or proof of social security number. If parents are divorced, the parent granted custody must submit a certified copy of their divorce decree in order to sign consent. Please contact your local County Clerk office for additional information.

Absent Applicant:

All applicants must be present for the ceremony unless: (a) the absent applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation; and unable to attend the ceremony. All other applicants will have to be present for the ceremony. Absent Applicant Affidavit Application

Declaration And Registration Of An Informal Marriage (Common Law):

An informal marriage license can be obtained and recorded by a couple who agree to be married, and after the agreement, they lived together in this state as a couple and represented to others that they were married.

  • Both parties must be present. An absentee affidavit cannot be used for an informal marriage license.
  • A person under 18 years of age may not obtain an informal marriage license.
  • A person may not obtain an informal marriage license if presently married to someone else.
  • The fee varies from Texas county to county, so call ahead to your local County Clerk's office to find out the current fee and ask what form of payment is accepted. In some cases, you may need to bring cash.


Online Applications (if applicable):

Marriage license applications may be filled out and saved online. However, applicants must appear in person to sign and purchase the marriage license. Please note: additional information will be required of each applicant when the marriage license is issued.


Marriage Officiants Texas:

Persons authorized to perform weddings in Texas include licensed or ordained Christian ministers, priests, Jewish rabbis, officers authorized by religious organizations, justices of the supreme court, judges of the court of criminal appeals, justices of the courts of appeals, judges of the district, county, and probate courts, judges of the county courts at law, judges of the courts of domestic relations, judges of the juvenile courts, retired justices or judges, justices of the peace, retired justices of the peace, and judges or magistrates of a federal court of Texas.


Marriage Witnesses Texas:

  • You do not need to bring witnesses to obtain the Marriage license.
  • Texas that does not require witnesses at the ceremony.


Expiration Date of Marriage License Texas:

The Marriage License is valid in Texas for 90 days after issuance..


Copy of Certificate of Marriage License

Bureau of Vital Statistics
Texas Department of Health
P.O. Box 12040
Austin, TX 78711-2040
Ph: 512.458.7111


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Texas marriage license laws and records please visit

Marriage Records

Birth Certificate

Search by State

State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request.

United States Marriage License Laws