Search Divorce Records

North Carolina Marriage License, NC

State of North Carolina marriage license fee is $60. Legal marriage age is 18, minimum age is 16 w/consent. No blood test or waiting period requirements.

Local Officiants

State of North Carolina
Marriage License Requirements

  • The fee for a North Carolina marriage license fee is $60 and is required at the time of application. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.

  • Couples wishing to get married in North Carolina may obtain their marriage license in any local Register of Deed's office and be used anywhere in North Carolina within 60 days.

  • Teens age 18 and over may marry without parental consent with proper ID.

  • Both applicants must appear in the Register of Deed's office.

  • Bring valid ID (any of the following: Drivers License, State issued ID card or Passport.

  • Bring a Social Security card, W-2 form, or payroll check stub with your complete Social Security Number on the check stub. The name on the proof of social security must match the name on the ID exactly. If the individual has not been assigned a social security number, an Affidavit must be completed.

  • No waiting period and the marriage license is valid for 60 days.

  • After the ceremony, the license must be returned to the issuing county.

Alamance Alexander
Alleghany Anson
Ashe Avery
Beaufort Bertie
Bladen Brunswick
Buncombe Burke
Cabarrus Caldwell
Camden Carteret
Caswell Catawba
Chatham Cherokee
Chowan Clay
Cleveland Columbus
Craven Cumberland
Dare Davidson
Davie Duplin
Durham Edgecombe
Forsyth Franklin
Gaston Gates
Graham Granville
Greene Guilford
Halifax Harnett
Haywood Henderson
Hertford Hoke
Hyde Iredell
Jackson Johnston
Jones Lee
Lenoir Lincoln
McDowell Macon
Madison Martin
Mecklenburg Montgomery
Moore Nash
New Hanover Northampton
Onslow Orange
Pamlico Pasquotank
Pender Perquimans
Person Pitt
Polk Randolph
Richmond Robeson
Rockingham Rowan
Rutherford Sampson
Scotland Stanly
Stokes Surry
Swain Transylvania
Tyrrell Union
Vance Wake
Warren Washington
Watauga Wayne
Wilkes Wilson
Yadkin Yancey

Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage ID Requirement North Carolina:

To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:

  • Both parties should appear at the Register of Deed's office, if possible (NCGS 51.8.2). If an applicant for a marriage license is over 18 years of age and is unable to appear, the other party to the marriage must appear in person and present a sworn and notarized affidavit from the other member of the party, prior to the issuance of the license. Affidavit forms are available in the Register of Deed's Office.

  • If either applicant is under 18 years of age, please call your local Register of Deed's office for assistance.

  • Applicants must show their valid ID, provide their social security number and sign the marriage license at the Register of Deed's office.

  • Per North Carolina law, all applicants must provide their Social Security number. If ineligible for a Social Security Number, an affidavit will be provided for applicant to sign.

  • If a divorce was finalized within the last sixty days of the application, the original or a certified copy of the decree is required.

  • $60 is the fee to obtain a marriage license. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.

  • The license is good immediately upon issuance and is valid for 60 days.

  • It is important that you verify all information with the your local Register of Deed's office before making any wedding or travel plans.

If you do not fully understand English, you are responsible for bringing an interpreter with you. The Register of Deed's office do not furnish interpreters for any language. The person you are marrying can not be the interpreter.

Marriage ID Requirement in NC:

  • Valid Driver’s License

    • Valid picture ID does NOT include the temporary paper now received from NC DMV. This temporary paper is for driving privileges only and NOT to be used for identification purposes in obtaining a marriage license.

  • Valid State Issued Identification Card

  • Residency card (same as “green card”) – swipe card only

  • Valid Passport

  • Military Identification

  • Matricular Identification w/ a Certified Birth Certificate

Marriage Waiting Period in NC:

There is no waiting period.

Marriage Residency Requirement:

Applicants do NOT need to be residents to marry in North Carolina.

Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

Divorced applicants must provide the month and year of their last divorce. If the divorce was finalized within 30 days of applying for the marriage license, the applicant must provide an original or certified copy of the divorce decree. There is no waiting period between the divorce and applying for the new license.

Marriage License Fees NC:

The fee of the marriage license in North Carolina is $60. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.

Proxy Marriages:

No. However, only one of you can apply for the marriage license if a sworn and notarized affidavit from your absent partner is presented.

Cousin Marriages:

Yes. First cousins MAY marry, but DOUBLE first cousins may not. Double first cousins are very rare, as the couple have to be related as cousins through both parents.

Common Law Marriages:


Marriage Blood Test NC:

A premarital medical examination is NOT required.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Marriage Age Requirements: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

  • Teens age 18 and over may marry without parental consent with proper ID.

  • Teens ages 16 & 17 may marry with consent by the custodial parent or the person, agency or institution having legal custody or serving as guardian – documents proving custody or guardianship are required along with proper ID and a certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate – parent signing for applicant must show picture ID

  • Teens ages 14 & 15 may marry, but are required to have a court order allowing them to obtain a marriage license in North Carolina – please contact your local Clerk of Superior Court’s office to learn more about this procedure.

Marriage Officiants North Carolina:

Marriages may be performed by an ordained minister of any religious denomination, a minister authorized by a church, a magistrate, or a federally- or state-recognized Indian Nation or tribe.

Marriage Witnesses

Two witnesses are required for all marriage ceremonies.

Expiration Date of Marriage License:

  • The license is valid for 60 days and can only be used within the State of North Carolina.

  • If the marriage license application is not returned to the Register of Deed's office for recording within 60 days of issuance, the license will expire.

  • Applicants with expired marriage license applications will be required to apply for a new license with applicable fees.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage License

NC Vital Records
P.O. Box 29537
Raleigh, NC 27626-0537

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding North Carolina marriage license records please visit

Marriage Records

Birth Certificate

Search by State

State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request.

United States Marriage License Laws