Show By States
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Search Near By Location
Marriage License Fee: $75
Waiver Fee: $25
335 E. Monroe Avenue,
Room 2130 Barron,
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. / M – F
(except for Court Approved Holidays)
Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage Application Requirement Wisconsin: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:
Applicants must apply together and in person.
Applicants are required to present current photo identification.
Applicants are required to present proof of where they live in the form of a driver’s license, state issued identification card, mail, rent or mortgage receipt, checking account, or savings account.
Applicants are required to present their social security number, if assigned.
Wisconsin State Statutes require all parties to present a state certified copy of a birth certificate:
Photocopies cannot be accepted: Per Wisconsin State Statutes §69.24, it is illegal to make photocopies of any vital record, doing so carries a fine of $10,000.00.
Hospital and baptism certificates cannot be accepted.
If previously married – please bring applicable document as is required:
Certified copy of death certificate
Copy of state annulment papers
Copy of prior divorce papers – Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law
Applicants Applicants should be prepared to provide their parents full names.
Applicants Applicants should be prepared to provide their mothers’ maiden names.
Applicants should be prepared to provide the date of the marriage, and the correct spelling of the officiant’s name, as well as his/her business address, phone number and e-mail address.
Applicants should also know the name of the county and municipality (city, village or town) where the ceremony will take place.
If one or both of the applicants don’t speak English, a third party needs to interpret at the time of application. Couples cannot translate for each other.
Any documents not in English must be translated.
State issued ID card
Permanent Resident Card
Foreign Gov’t issued Passport
Waiting Period: Five (5) days, unless a waiver of the waiting period has been granted.
Special dispensation of waiting period: A waiver of the five (5) day waiting period is granted for any of the reasons outlined in Chapter 765 of the Wisconsin Statutes.
A waiver of the waiting period may be granted for an additional fee.
The waiver fee differs by county.
Wisconsin Residents: Must apply for a marriage license at the County Clerk’s office in the county one of the parties has resided in for at least 30 days prior to making application.
The license can then be used in any county in the State of Wisconsin.
Non-Wisconsin Residents: Must apply in the county in which they are to be married.
In Wisconsin, you must show proof of divorce, death, or civil annulment from your most recent marriage.
A divorced person may not remarry until 6 months after the granting of the Judgment of Divorce regardless of where the action took place.
Bring a copy of judgment of divorce, legal annulment or death certificate from your most recent marriage.
Marriage License Fees:
The fee for a Wisconsin marriage license varies by county and is required at the time of application. Many counties do not accept credit cards, or apply an additional processing fee if they do. It is best to check with the County Clerk’s office in which you wish to apply, and bring cash.
No. Proxy marriages are not allowed in Wisconsin. Both parties must be present.
No marriage shall be contracted between persons who are nearer of kin than second cousins, except that marriage may be contracted between first cousins where the female has attained the age of 55 years or either party has documented proof of sterilization.
Commom Law Marriages:
No. Common Law marriages are not recognized in Wisconsin.
Blood test in Wisconsin:
Wisconsin does not require that you take any blood tests.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
The legal age for marriage in Wisconsin is 18.
Applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age must have both parents’ consent or the consent of their legal guardian.
A consent form must be completed, signed, and notarized.
This form is available in the Office of the County Clerk.
Marriage Officiants Wisconsin:
Any ordained clergyman of any religious denomination or society, any judge of a court of record, or a family court commissioner may perform the ceremony.
The two parties themselves, by such mutual declarations in accordance with the customs, rules, and regulations of any religious society, denomination, or sect to which either of the parties belong, may also perform the ceremony.
An officiating person must be at least 18 years of age.
After the ceremony has taken place, the officiant must file the license at the Register of Deeds office.
Two (2) competent adult witnesses must be physically present together at the time of the ceremony in order for the marriage to be legal.
License Validity Time:
A Wisconsin marriage license is valid for 30 days from the date of issue.
1 West Wilson Street
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53701
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Wisconsin marriage license laws please visit www.dhs.wisconsin.gov.