State of Arkansas Marriage License, AR
State of Arkansas marriage License fee is $60. No blood test or waiting period. Legal marriage age is 18. No minimum age w/judicial approval and parental consent.
State of Arkansas
Marriage License Requirements
Marriage License Fee: $60.00
Marriage Law Requirements for Arkansas Marriage License:
To obtain a marriage license in the State of Arkansas, an engaged couple must appear in person together at any County Clerk’s office in the State of Arkansas.
Both parties must be 18 years of age or older to contract for a marriage license in Arkansas.
Both applicants must present a valid government issued identification.
Both applicants must be present and together when license is issued.
No medical/blood test or proof of residency are required.
There is no waiting period required in Arkansas. If (under 18 years of age).
Arkansas marriage license fee is $60.00 (Sixty Dollars).
The marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days.
Arkansas Marriage License Laws Requirements:
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage Application Requirement Arkansas: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:
Both parties 18 or older must present a valid government issued identification. showing their correct name and date of birth.
If your name has changed through a divorce and your driver’s license does not reflect this change, you will need to bring a certified copy of your divorce decree.
application fee is $60.00 (Sixty Dollars).
Applicants are responsible and must return the marriage license to the County Clerk’s office to be recorded whether used or unused, within SIXTY (60) days from the date of issuance.
Marriage ID Requirement Arkansas: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
Both parties must be 18 years or older and have one of the following:
State issued I.D.
Valid Drivers License
Passport, Visa (not expired)
Original Birth Certificate
Marriage Waiting Period Requirement Arkansas:
- There is no waiting period required in Arkansas.
- Marriage license may be issued immediately if the applicants are both age 18 or over.
- Males age 17 and females age 16 or 17 who are obtaining a marriage license with parental consent must fulfill a waiting period of 5 business days.
Marriage Residency Requirement Arkansas:
You do not have to be a resident of Arkansas. Marriage license can be used anywhere in Arkansas.
If you were previously married, you will need to show your divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of previous spouse. If you name has changed, you need to bring a certified copy of your divorce decree.
Marriage License Fee Arkansas:
Arkansas marriage license fee is $60.00 (Sixty Dollars). Acceptable form of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.
Covenant Marriages Arkansas:
Act 1486 of 2001 created an option for couples in Arkansas to choose a Covenant Marriage.
A man and a woman may contract a Covenant Marriage by declaring their intent to do so on their Application for Marriage license and executing a Declaration of Intent to contract a Covenant Marriage.
A Recitation signed by both parties.
An Affidavit by the parties that they have received authorized counseling emphasizing the nature, purposes and responsibilities of marriage.
An Attestation, signed by the counselor and attached to or included in the parties’ Affidavit, confirming that the parties received authorized counseling.
The signature of both parties witnessed by a notary.
The Recitation, Affidavit, and Attestation shall be filed at the time the Covenant Marriage License is issued.
“Authorized counseling” means marital counseling provided by: A Priest, Minister, Rabbi, Clerk of the Religious Society of Friends, Clergy Member of any Religious Sect, Licensed Professional Counselor, Licensed Associate Counselor, Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, Licensed Clinical Psychologist or a Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist.
Proxy Marriages Arkansas:
No. Arkansas does not allow proxy marriages.
Cousin Marriages Arkansas:
No. Arkansas does not allow cousin marriages.
Common Law Marriages Arkansas:
No. Arkansas does not allow common law marriages.
Marriage Blood Test Arkansas:
No blood or medical tests required to get married in Arkansas.
Name Change Arkansas:
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements Arkansas:
Males 17 of age and females 16-17 years of age §9-11-102
Must have parental consent requires a mandatory 5-day waiting period.
“Parental Consent” is defined as the consent of:
Both parents of the person under 18 years of age who wishes to enter into a contract for marriage;
The custodial parent of the person under 18 years of age if the parents are divorced and one parent has been awarded custody exclusive of the non-custodial parent;
The custodial parent when the non-custodial parent has surrendered custody through abandonment or desertion;
Paternity has been determined by a court of competent jurisdiction and the court has awarded custody to the man adjudged to be the father of the under-aged party;
A court-appointed guardian of the person under 18 years of age
If one or both parties are under the minium age prescribed in §9-11-102 and the female is PREGNANT
In those instances where one or both of the parties wishing to marry are under the minimum age and the female IS PREGNANT, both parties may appear before a judge of the circuit court of the district where the application for marriage license is being made. The circuit court judge, after considering all evidence supplied by the parties, may issue an order directing the clerk to issue a marriage license to the party or parties under 18 years of age and wishing to marry.
In those cases where the female has given birth to a child of the parties the parties may petition the circuit court for consent to marry. The circuit court judge, after considering all of the evidence, may issue an order directing the clerk to issue a marriage license to the parties.
Marriage Officiants Arkansas:
9-11-213. Persons who may solemnize marriages.
(a) For the purpose of being registered and perpetuating the evidence thereof, marriage shall be solemnized only by the following persons:
(1) The Governor;
(2) Any former justice of the Supreme Court;
(3) Any judges of the courts of record within this state, including any former judge of a court of record who served at least four (4) years or more;
(4) Any justice of the peace, including any former justice of the peace who served at least two (2) terms since the passage of Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 55;
(5) Any regularly ordained minister or priest of any religious sect or denomination;
(6) The mayor of any city or town;
(7) Any official appointed for that purpose by the quorum court of the county where the marriage is to be solemnized; or
(8) Any elected district court judge and any former municipal or district court judge who served at least four (4) years.
(b) (1) Marriages solemnized through the traditional rite of the Religious Society of Friends, more commonly known as Quakers, are recognized as valid to all intents and purposes the same as marriages otherwise contracted and solemnized in accordance with law.
(2) The functions, duties, and liabilities of a party solemnizing marriage, as set forth in the marriage laws of this state, in the case of marriages solemnized through the traditional marriage rite of the Religious Society of Friends shall be incumbent upon the clerk of the congregation or, in his or her absence, his or her duly designated alternate.
Justices of the Peace in Arkansas (and any former Justice of the Peace who served at least 2 terms since 1977) may solemnize marriages and must complete the information required in the Certificate of Marriage on the Marriage License.
Minister’s performing marriages in the State of Arkansas must have had their credentials (Ordination Certificate or Minister’s License) recorded in any county in Arkansas.
Ministers must complete the information required in the Certificate of Marriage on the Marriage License.
The minister is not responsible for returning the license after the marriage ceremony.
The applicants are responsible and must return the marriage license to the County Clerk’s office to be recorded within SIXTY (60) DAYS from the date of issuance.
Marriage Witnesses Arkansas:
No witnesses are required for marriages in the State of Arkansas.
Expiration Date of Marriage License Arkansas:
The marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days.
The license may be used anywhere in the state of Arkansas, but must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office where you first applied.
Division of Vital Records
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Arkansas marriage license records please visit www.healthy.arkansas.gov.