United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status



 


Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  Illinois  »  County Clerk  »  Adams County, IL


Adams County, IL

Adams County
Marriage License Requirements

Marriage License Fee: $22.00

507 Vermont Street
Quincy, Illinois 62301
Ph: 217-227-2150
8:30 am – 4:30 pm / M – F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Application:

To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:

  • Both applicants must be present to obtain a license and be 18 years of age.

  • Both applicants must fill out and sign a marriage license application.

  • Both applicants must present valid identification with proof of age.

  • Bring your fee for the marriage license.

  • Applicants who have divorced within the last six weeks must provide a certified copy of their divorce decree upon applying for a marriage license.

  • Applicants who were widowed within the last 6 weeks must provide a certified copy of the death certificate.

  • License is valid for sixty (60) days only in the county in which it was issued.


It is important that you verify all information with your local County Clerk’s office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license.


ID Requirement in Illinois:

  • State drivers license

  • State issued identification

  • U.S. passport or foreign passport (Must be readable, must have issue and expiration dates.)

  • U.S. Armed Forces identification card

  • Matricula Consular

  • Permanent Resident Card


Waiting Period in Illinois:

llinois has a twenty-four (24) hour waiting period to get married.


Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Illinois.


Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

  • Applicants who have divorced within the last six weeks must provide a certified copy of their divorce decree upon applying for a marriage license.

  • Applicants who were widowed within the last 6 weeks must provide a certified copy of the death certificate.


Marriage License Fees in Illinois:

It will cost you $30.00+ to get married in Illinois. Some Illinois counties charge $50.00+. The cost of receiving a marriage license varies from county to county and some Illinois counties will only accept cash. Please call ahead to verify whether or not you need cash.



Proxy Marriages:

No.


Cousin Marriages:

Yes, first cousins may marry if they are older than the age of 50.


Common Law Marriages:

No.


Blood test in Illinois:

No. Illinois does not require blood tests.


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Under 18:

Minors under age 18 but over age 16 may be married with the consent of parents. Both parents must appear at the time the license is issued and sign an affidavit consenting to marriage.


Officiants in Illinois:

Any ordained minister or religious leader may solemnize your marriage ceremony.


Witnesses:

Witnesses are not required by Illinois law.


License Validity Time:

Illinois marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days only in the county in which it was issued.



Copy of Certificate of Marriage

Illinois Dept. of Public Health
Division of Vital Records
605 W. Jefferson St.
Springfield, IL 62702-5097
Ph: 217.782.6553
Fx: 217.523.2648


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Illinois marriage records please visit www.idph.state.il.us.