United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status



 


Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  Illinois  »  Chicago  »  Chicago Marriage License


Chicago Marriage License

Chicago Marriage License
Marriage License Requirements

Marriage License Fee: $60

  • Minimum age to marry is 16.

  • There’s a 1-day waiting period.

  • No blood test or exams.

  • Marriage license has no expiration date.

  • There are no residency requirements to marry in Chicago, Illinois.

  • Witnesses are not required.


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Application:

Before getting married in Chicago or suburban Cook County, couples must obtain a marriage license from the Cook County Clerk’s office.


ID Requirement in Illinois:

One form of ID if submitting one of the following:

  • State drivers license
  • State identification
  • U.S. passport
  • U.S. Armed Forces identification card

– OR –

Two of these forms of ID:

  • Certified copy of Birth Certificate (English translations required for foreign certificates must be notarized)
  • U.S. naturalization certificate
  • U.S. resident alien card
  • Life insurance policy (at least 1 year old)
  • Foreign passport
  • Baptismal record (date of birth must appear)
  • Consulate identification card (matricula)


Waiting Period in Illinois:

There’s a 1-day waiting period.


Residency Requirement:

Non-residents cannot obtain a marriage license if said marriage would be void in their state.


Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

If either applicant is divorced, they must provide final divorce papers signed by the judge.


Marriage License Fees:

The marriage license fee in Chicago is $60.


Same Sex Marriages:

Yes, same-sex couples can get married in Illinois as of June 1, 2014.


Proxy Marriages:

No.


Cousin Marriages:

Yes, first cousins may marry if they are older than the age of 50.


Common Law Marriages:

No.


Blood test in Illinois:

No tests.


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Under 18:

Marriage applicants 16- and 17-years old may obtain
a marriage license with:

  • Consent of parents listed on applicants’ birth certificates. All parents listed on each minor’s birth certificate must be present and show valid identification.
  • Certified copies of applicants’ birth certificates
  • A second form of identification showing applicants’ dates of birth.


Officiants in Illinois:

Ordained ministers, judges, retired judges, and public officials whose powers include solemnization of marriages.


Witnesses:

No.


License Validity Time:

Marriage licenses are:

  • issued while you wait
  • effective the following calendar day after they are issued
  • valid for 60 days
  • effective only in Chicago and suburban Cook County



Copy of Certificate of Marriage

Cook County Clerk David Orr
Bureau of Vital Records
P.O. Box 641070
Chicago, IL 60664-1070
866.252.8974




Downtown Chicago – Daley Center
50 W. Washington St.
Chicago, IL 60602
Ph: 312.603.7790
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F for all services
5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m./ W for Marriage Licenses ONLY

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

North suburbs – Skokie
5600 W. Old Orchard Rd., Room 149
Skokie, IL 60077
Ph: 847.470.7233
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F for all services
4:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m./ W for Marriage Licenses ONLY

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

Northwest suburbs – Rolling Meadows
2121 Euclid Ave., Room 238
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008
Ph: 847.818.2850
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F for all services
4:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m./ W for Marriage Licenses ONLY

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

West suburbs – Maywood
1311 Maybrook Square, Room 104
Maywood, IL 60153
Ph: 708.865.6010
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F for all services
4:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m./ W for Marriage Licenses ONLY

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

South suburbs – Markham
16501 S. Kedzie, Room 238
Markham, IL 60426
Ph: 708.232.4150
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F for all services
4:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m./ W for Marriage Licenses ONLY

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

Southwest suburbs – Bridgeview
10220 S. 76th Ave., Room 238
Bridgeview, IL 60455
Ph: 708.974-6150
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F for all services
4:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m./ W for Marriage Licenses ONLY

(except for Court Approved Holidays)


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Illinois marriage license laws please visit www.cookcountyclerk.com.