United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status



 


Marriage Laws  »  Marriage License  »  West Virginia  »  West Virginia State, WV


West Virginia State, WV

State of West Virginia
Marriage License Requirements

  • The fee for a West Virginia marriage license is $56 and is required at the time of application.

  • Couples with premarital certificate of completion the marriage license fee is reduced to $36.

  • Marriage licenses are issued by the County Clerk’s office found in all counties in West Virginia.

  • Minimum age to marry is 16.

    • If under the age of 16 must receive consent from a Judge in addition to parental consent.

    • If under the age of 18 there is a three (3) day waiting period and both parents of the underage person must appear with identification to give consent or a single parent must be present with identification and full custody papers.

  • Waiting Period: There is no waiting period, unless you are under 18, in which case there is a 3 day waiting period.

  • License Validity: 60 Days.

  • Blood Test: Not Required.

  • Residency: If you or your fiancee are a resident of the state, you should apply in the county where one of you has residence.

    • If neither of you reside in West Virginia, you can apply in any county of your choosing. In both situations, the marriage license is good throughout the state regardless of the county that issued it.

  • Witnesses: No witnesses are required.


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Application:

To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:

  • Both parties must appear in person to receive the license.

  • Valid Identification or certified copy of birth certificate.

  • Both parties Social Security Numbers

  • Both parties must know the complete name of each of their parents including their Mother’s maiden name.

  • Both parties must know the city and state or foreign country where each of their parents were born.


ID Requirement:

  • Driver’s License

  • State issued ID card

  • Military ID

  • Passport

  • Passport Card

  • Permanent Resident Card

  • Foreign Gov’t issued Passport


Waiting Period:

There is no waiting period, unless you are under 18, in which case there is a 3 day waiting period.


Residency Requirement:

ul>

  • If you or your fiancee are a resident of the state, you should apply in the county where one of you has residence.

  • If neither of you reside in West Virginia, you can apply in any county of your choosing.


  • Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

    • If you are divorced, you must know the exact date of the divorce.

      • This is the date the Judge signed the divorce decree.

    • You must know the exact date of death if your previous marriage ended due to the death of your spouse.


    Marriage License Fees:

    The standard fee is $56. Couples with premarital certificate of completion $36. This fee does not include additional certified or keepsake copies of the marriage license, which are available from the county that issued the original license for an additional fee, usually about $5 to $10.



    Proxy Marriages:

    No. Proxy marriages are not allowed in West Virginia. Both parties must be present.


    Cousin Marriages:

    You cannot marry your first cousin in West Virginia. However, you may marry your second or third cousin, etc.


    Commom Law Marriages:

    No. Common-Law marriage is not allowed in West Virginia.


    Blood test in West Virginia:

    No blood test or other medical tests are required for marriage in West Virginia.


    Name Change:

    Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


    Under 18: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

    • If under the age of 18 there is a three (3) day waiting period and both parents of the underage person must appear with identification to give consent or a single parent must be present with identification and full custody papers.

    • If under the age of 16 must receive consent from a Judge in addition to parental consent.


    Officiants in West Virginia:

    A religious representative who has complied with the provisions of section 2-402 of the West Virginia Code, a family court judge, a circuit judge or a justice of the supreme court of appeals, is authorized to celebrate the rites of marriage in any county of West Virginia.


    Witnesses:

    There is no statutory requirement that witnesses be present at the marriage ceremony.


    License Validity Time:

    Once issued, the Marriage License must be used within 60 days of issue.



    Copy of Certificate of Marriage

    To obtain marriage records in West Virginia marriage records, you will need to contact the Marriage License Clerk at the County Court House in the county where the license was issued.


    Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding West Virginia marriage license laws and records please visit www.wvdhhr.org.