Search Divorce Records

New Hampshire Marriage Laws

Local Officiants

New Hampshire Marriage Laws

  • New Hampshire Marriage License Fee is $50.

  • Minimum age to marry is 18.

  • Blood tests are not required in New Hamshire.

  • Your license will be effective immediately, with no waiting period, and remain valid for a period of 90 days.

  • If applying for your license in the State of New Hampshire, you may go to any City/Town Clerk’s office.

  • Both parties must present their birth certificates or passports and their drivers licenses at the time of application.

  • Also, if it is not a first marriage for either, you must present your final or absolute divorce decree/ annulment papers with the seal or death certificate.

If applying for your license in the State of New Hampshire, you may go to any City/Town Clerk’s office. It doesn’t matter where you’re getting married. Both parties must present their birth certificates or passports and their drivers licenses at the time of application.

Also, if it is not a first marriage for either, you must present your final or absolute divorce decree/ annulment papers with the seal or death certificate.

Blood tests are not required. Your license will be effective immediately, with no waiting period, and remain valid for a period of 90 days. New Hampshire Marriage License Fee is $50.

Acworth Albany
Alexandria Allenstown
Alstead Alton
Amherst Andover
Antrim Ashland
Atkinson Auburn
Barnstead Barrington
Bartlett Bath
Bedford Belmont
Bennington Benton
Berlin Bethlehem
Boscawen Bow
Bradford Brentwood
Bridgewater Bristol
Brookfield Brookline
Campton Canaan
Candia Canterbury
Carroll Center Harbor
Charlestown Chatham
Chester Chesterfield
Chichester Claremont
Clarksville Colebrook
Columbia Concord
Conway Cornish
Croydon Dalton
Danbury Danville
Deerfield Deering
Derry Dorchester
Dover Dublin
Dummer Dunbarton
Durham East Kingston
Easton Eaton
Effingham Ellsworth
Enfield Epping
Epsom Errol
Exeter Farmington
Fitzwilliam Francestown
Franconia Franklin
Freedom Fremont
Gilford Gilmanton
Gilsum Goffstown
Gorham Goshen
Grafton Grantham
Greenfield Greenland
Greenville Groton
Hampstead Hampton
Hampton Falls Hancock
Hanover Harrisville
Hart’s Haverhill
Hebron Henniker
Hill Hillsborough
Hinsdale Holderness
Hollis Hooksett
Hopkinton Hudson
Jackson Jaffrey
Jefferson Keene
Kensington Kingston
Laconia Lancaster
Landaff Langdon
Lebanon Lee
Lempster Lincoln
Lisbon Litchfield
Littleton Londonderry
Loudon Lyman
Lyme Lyndeborough
Madbury Madison
Manchester Marlborough
Marlow Mason
Meredith Merrimack
Middleton Milan
Milford Milton
Monroe Mont Vernon
Moultonborough Nashua
Nelson New Boston
New Castle New Durham
New Hampton New Ipswich
New London Newbury
Newfields Newington
Newmarket Newport
Newton North Hampton
Northfield Northumberland
Northwood Nottingham
Orange Orford
Ossipee Pelham
Pembroke Peterborough
Piermont Pittsburg
Pittsfield Plainfield
Plaistow Plymouth
Portsmouth Randolph
Raymond Richmond
Rindge Rochester
Rollinsford Roxbury
Rumney Rye
Salem Salisbury
Sanbornton Sandown
Sandwich Seabrook
Sharon Shelburne
Somersworth South Hampton
Springfield Stark
Stewartstown Stoddard
Strafford Stratford
Stratham Sugar Hill
Sullivan Sunapee
Surry Sutton
Swanzey Tamworth
Temple Thornton
Tilton Troy
Tuftonboro Unity
Wakefield Walpole
Warner Warren
Washington Waterville Valley
weare Webster
Wentworth Westmoreland
Whitefield Wilmot
Wilton Winchester
Windham Windsor
Wolfeboro Woodstock

Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

All persons wishing to be married in the State of New Hampshire must complete a Marriage License Application with any City/Town Clerk regardless of their place of residence. This includes out-of-state residents. Once the marriage license is issued, the couple is free to marry within any city or town in the State of New Hampshire.

Marriage is the legally recognized union of two people. Any person who otherwise meets the eligibility requirements under State Statute (Chapter 457) may marry any other eligible person regardless of gender.

A marriage certificate is a copy of the record certified by the City/Town Clerk or by the Registrar of the Vital Records and Health Statistics and serves as evidence of the fact of marriage.

Filing Intentions:

While these guidelines are based on New Hampshire state laws, some rules may vary from county to county. A call to the appropriate City/Town Clerk is advisable.

  • Both parties must appear in person to file marriage intentions, as the signature of each applicant is required. However, if either party (or both) is a member of the armed forces, he or she shall forward an affidavit of marriage intentions, prepared by the armed services legal representative, to the clerk if he or she can not appear in person.
  • All personal facts relative to both prospective spouses and the parents of each shall be entered accurately on the application. Errors of falsification of any fact can cause great hardship to you at a later date and may make you liable for criminal prosecution
  • Once a valid marriage license is issued, the couple is free to marry within any City/Town of New Hampshire.
  • The marriage license fee is set by RSA 457:29 and payable to the clerk at the time the intentions are filed. Currently, the marriage license fee in the State of New Hampshire is $50.
  • Certified copies of the marriage certificate can be obtained for a fee from the City/Town Clerk where the license was filed.

Marriage ID Requirement in NH:

The applicants shall supply to the clerk, prior to the issuance of the marriage license, the following documents:

  • Proof of age (example – driver’s license, passport, certified birth certificate)
  • Photo identification (example – driver’s license or passport)
  • Certified copy of a final divorce decree, if either applicant is divorced.
  • Certified copy of a civil annulment decree, if the applicant’s previous marriage was annulled (This is a court document).
  • Certified copy of a death certificate of a former spouse, if either applicant is widowed.

Prior to issuing a marriage license, the clerk shall supply the following brochures to the applicants:

  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Brochure
  • List of Family Planning Services
  • AIDS Brochure — Now That You’ve Decided to Get Married. (RSA 457:23,111, requires the signatures of both prospective spouses on an affidavit located on the back of the license acknowledging that they have received and discussed the AIDS brochure.)

Marriage Blood Test NH:

No. Blood tests are not required to obtain a marriage license in New Hampshire.

Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

Any person previously married must provide a certified copy of a dissolution, divorce, annulment decree or a death certificate.

Marriage Residency Requirement:

To be married in New Hampshire you do not have to establish residency.

Marriage Waiting Period in NH:

No. There is no waiting period in New Hampshire.

Marriage License Fee NH:

The fee for a marriage license in New Hampshire is $50. Preferred method of payment is cash.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Marriage Age Requirements:

  • A male or female who has reached the age of 18 can marry without parental permission.
  • A female between the age of 13 and 17 years and a male between the age of 14 and 17 years can be married only with the permission of their parent (guardian) and a waiver.
  • A female below the age of 13 and a male below the age of 14 are not allowed to marry under any condition.
  • Age waivers are not allowed for same gender marriages.
  • The above laws on age apply to NH residents or to non-residents who desire to marry NH residents. If both parties are non-residents and are below the age of 18 they cannot be married in NH under any condition.


    When “good/special” cause is shown, waivers may be obtained which can alter certain requirements. Applications are made to the Hillsborough County Superior Court, 30 Spring Street, Nashua, NH 03060. Fees apply.

    Age waiver
    When either of the applicants is not yet 18 years of age but meets the minimum age requirement (female 13-17 and male 14-17) he/she may request permission to marry from a justice of the superior court of the county in which one of the applicants resides.

    • The request shall be in writing and the parents or guardian of the applicant shall join in the request.
    • The applicant requesting the age waiver shall be a resident of this state or marrying a resident of this state.
    • No age waiver shall be granted to persons below the age of consent (18) if both parties are nonresidents.
    • No age waivers shall be granted for same gender marriages.

    Proxy Marriages:

    No. Proxy marriage is not permitted in New Hampshire, so no other party may apply on behalf of either spouse.

    Cousin Marriages:

    No. Marriage is not permitted in New Hampshire between people who are related by blood as first cousins or in any more direct lineage.

    Common Law Marriages:

    No. Common-law marriages are only recognized in New Hampshire at death for estate/inheritance purposes. (N.H. RSA. 457:39)

    The prospective couple will need to produce any necessary documentation such as previous dissolutions or divorces. Both parties in a same-gender marriage must be 18 years of age and there are no age waivers allowed. Out-of-state residents need to be aware that a marriage of two persons of the same gender, performed in New Hampshire, may not be recognized by their state of residence. Applicants are encouraged to review the laws of their home state and/or the laws of a state they intend to move to.


    In New Hampshire, marriages may be performed by:

    • A Justice of the Peace commissioned in NH
    • A minister of the gospel in NH who has been ordained according to the usage of his denomination, resides in NH, and is in regular standing with the denomination
    • A minister within his parish, residing outside NH, but having a pastoral charge wholly or partly in NH
    • Jewish rabbis who are citizens of the United States and reside in this state
    • Quakers
    • A deacon in the Roman Catholic Church ordained according to the usage of his denomination
    • Judges of the United States, a US magistrate judge residing in this state pursuant to federal law, clergymen who are not ordained and non-resident Justices of the Peace, ministers or Jewish rabbis, after being licensed by the Secretary of State.


    After the ceremony, it is your officiate’s responsibility to ensure that the completed license is returned to the City/Town Clerk’s Office that you applied with. It will then take approximately 10-14 days for the information to be updated in the vital records system. Please note that out of state officiates will be required to obtain a Special License. For more information about the Special day license, please contact the Secretary of State’s office at 603.271.3242.

    Uniform Marriage Recognition:

    Residents. If any person residing and intending to continue to reside in this state is prohibited from contracting marriage under the laws of this state and goes into another jurisdiction and there contracts a marriage prohibited and declared void by the laws of this state, such marriage shall be null and void for all purposes in this state, with the same effect as though such prohibited marriage had been entered into in this state.

    Nonresidents. No marriage shall be contracted in this state by a party residing and intending to continue to reside in another jurisdiction if such marriage would be voided if contracted in such other jurisdiction, and every marriage contracted in this state in violation hereof shall be null and void.

    Expiration Date of Marriage License:

    • A City/Town Clerk may issue a marriage license to the applicants the same day of the application, provided all signatures and statutory requirements are met (i.e. proof of divorce or death of previous marriage). The license shall be valid for a period of not less than 3 days and not more than 90 days from the date of filing. The marriage license should clearly state the date the license becomes valid as well as the date of expiration. The officiant shall make note of these dates and under no circumstances shall the couple be married before the
      valid date or after the expiration date
    • On application to a justice of the superior court, or a judge of probate within the county where the proposed marriage is to be solemnized, the court for good cause may order the validation date to be shortened.

    Copy of Certificate of Marriage:New Hampshire, New Hampshire Marriage Laws

    Bureau of Vital Records
    6 Hazen Drive
    Concord, NH 03301
    Ph: 603.271.4651

    Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Additional information can be found on the New Hampshire Secretary of State website.

    Marriage Records

    Birth Certificate

    Search by State

    State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request.

    United States Marriage License Laws