United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status



 


Marriage Laws  »  Marriage License  »  Texas  »  Dallas  »  Dallas Marriage License


Dallas Marriage License

Locations:

Downtown Dallas at the Records Building
509 Main Street, Suite 200
Dallas, TX
214.653.7099
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. M – F

The East Dallas Government Center
3443 St. Francis Ave.
Dallas, TX
214.321.3182
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M – F

North Dallas Government Center
10056 Marsh Lane, Suite 137
Dallas, TX
214.904.3032
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M – F

South Dallas Office Government Centerr
7201 S. Polk
Dallas, TX
(Call for office hours)
972-228-0280

Richardson Office
1411 W. Belt Line Road
Richardson, Texas 75080
214-904-3042
8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m., closed 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. / M – F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

Irving Office
841 W. Irving Blvd.
Irving, Texas75060
(Call for office hours)
214-589-7000

Beckley Courthouse
410 S. Beckley Ave
Dallas, TX
(Call for office hours)
214-943-5981

Lancaster Office
107 Texas Street
Lancaster, TX
(Call for office hours)
972-228-2272

Grand Prairie Office
106 West Church Street, Suite 205 St.
Grand Prairie, TX
(Call for office hours)
214-751-4040


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Marriage Application Requirement Arizona:

To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:

  • Both parties must appear before the county clerk;
  • Submit proof of identity and age;
  • Provide information applicable to that person for which space is provided
  • Mark the appropriate boxes provided in the application and;
  • Take the oath printed on the application and sign before the county clerk.
  • A license will be issued to persons who may be delinquent for payment of court-ordered child support.


Marriage ID Requirement in Texas:

  • Driver’s license or identification card issued by this state or another state;
  • United States passport;
  • A current passport issued by a foreign country;
  • An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a Bureau of Vital Statistic for a state or a foreign government (printed within the last 10 years). Must present a valid form of government issued ID; or
  • Military ID card
  • Forms of identification cannot be mutilated(Ex. torn, taped together, or laminated).


Marriage Waiting Period in Texas:

There is a 72-hour waiting period following the issuing of the license. If either party is active, military the 72-hour waiting period is waived. Military identification is required at the time of application for this waiver. As of September 1, 2005, the 72-hour waiting period is being strictly enforced.

If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 31st day after the license is issued, the marriage license expires. If the license expires before the marriage ceremony, a new license will have to be purchased.


Marriage Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a previous or current resident of Texas to obtain a marriage license in Texas.


Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

If you were previously married, the date of your divorce or the date of your spouse’s death must be provided. If the divorce or spouse’s death had taken place within the last 30 days, bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate.

There is a 30-day waiting period after a divorce is granted within this state. An applicant may apply for a license within the 30 days if the court issues a waiver in the divorce decree.


Marriage License Fees Texas:

The cost of a marriage license is $81.00 cash.

Couples who go through the State of Texas approved marriage education class (Twogether in Texas) will not have to pay the $60.00 State portion of the marriage license fee. They will still pay the smaller County portion, which varies by County. The certificate must be presented to the clerk at the time of purchasing the marriage license.

For more information please click on the following link to search for marriage Education services in your area www.bethechampion.org Spanish web site: www.seelcampeon.org.

Same Sex Marriages:

Same sex marriages are not legal in the state of Texas.


Proxy Marriages:

Both bride and groom must be in full compliance with the following information or the application will be denied.

  • As of September 1, 2013,all applicants using an absent applicant affidavit must be present for the ceremony unless;
    the absent applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation; and unable to attend the ceremony.
  • Information for an absent applicant affidavit can only be completed by the absent applicant.
  • ALL Affidavit’s must be Notarized.
  • This application is not available for an informal marriage license (Common Law).
  • The affidavit will be denied if any of the questions are not answered or if affidavit is not notarized.
  • Documents with white out or mark outs will not be accepted.
  • Please print or type all requested information in blue or black ink.
  • The absentee applicant must return the original completed affidavit directly to the person they wish to marry. 
  • The individual appointed as proxy must be present when purchasing the marriage license.
  • A person who is incarcerated may apply for a marriage license using an absent applicant affidavit form. HOWEVER, THEY MUST BE PRESENT FOR THE MARRIAGE CEREMONY. A PROXY CANNOT BE APPOINTED.


Cousin Marriages:

No. S.B. No. 6


Common Law Marriages:

Yes. Texas also refers to common law marriage as an informal
marriage.

For a marriage to be declared an informal marriage in Texas, a couple has two options.

    1. Sign a declaration of their marriage under oath. The form is available at County Clerk’s office.

      The Declaration and Registration of Informal Marriage asks for full names, woman’s maiden surname, addresses, dates of birth, places of birth, social security numbers, and relationship information.

      The Declaration states: “I solemnly swear (or affirm) that we, the undersigned, are married to each other by virtue of the following facts: On or about (Date) we agreed to be married, and after that date we lived together as husband and wife and in this state we represented to others that we were married. Since the date of marriage to the other party I have not been married to any other person. This declaration is true and the information in it which I have given is correct.”

2. Live together as husband and wife in Texas

  • Represent to others that they are married.
  • Agree with one another that they are married.


Marriage Blood Test Texas:

Blood test or health certificates are not required to obtain a license.


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Marriage Age Requirements: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

Applicants should be 18 years or older with valid identification. Applicants under the age of 18 must have a certified copy of their (long form) birth certificate issued in the last 10 years.

The minimum age for marriage in Texas with parental consent is 16. Parents listed on the long form birth certificate must be present and give written consent. The consenting parent must provide some form of government identification such as a valid driver’s license. If the natural parents are divorced, the parent given custody must be present, and give written consent, and present a certified copy of their custody papers.

Judicial approval is required for anyone under the age of 16 to marry. Individuals who are 16 and 17 must have judicial approval or parental consent.


Marriage Officiants Texas:

  • A licensed or ordained Christian Minister or Priest;
  • A Jewish Rabbi;
  • A person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony; and
  • A Justice of the Supreme Court, Judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals, Justice of the Courts of Appeals, Judge of the District, County, and Probate Courts, Judge of the County Courts at Law, Judge of the Courts of Domestic Relations, Judge of the Juvenile Courts, retired Justice or Judge or Magistrate of a Federal Court of the State.


Marriage Witnesses:

Witnesses are not required.


Expiration Date of Marriage License:

The license expires at the end of the 90-day period immediately following the date that the license was issued if the marriage ceremony has not been conducted within that period.



Copy of Certificate of Marriage License

Attn: Vital Statistics
Records Building, 2nd Floor
509 Main Street
Dallas, TX 75202


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Texas marriage license laws please visit www.dallascounty.org.