Hamblen County Marriage License, TN
Marriage License Requirements
Marriage License Fees:
$100.00 – wo/ Premarital Course Certificate
$40.00 – w/ Premarital Course Certificate
511 West Second North
St. Morristown, TN 37814
Ph: (423) 586-1993
Fx: (423) 585-2015
8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. / M – Th;
8 a.m. – 5 p.m. / Fi
(except for Court Approved Holidays)
Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage Application Requirement Tennessee: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
Proof of date of birth (Government Issued Photo Identification or Certified Birth Certificate)
Proof of Social Security Number (for individuals that have been issued one.)
Both parties have to be present, unless one is incarcerated. If one party is incarcerated, the other party must bring 2 forms of ID for the one incarcerated and also must have a relative of the incarcerated party to sign for them.
Completing the online Marriage Pre-Application will save you a considerable amount of time. The general information you submit will be forwarded directly to the Hamblen County Clerk’s office. After completing the pre-application online, you may then visit the County Clerk’s office location(s) to obtain your license.
Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. 36-3-104(a) (1997), “No county clerk nor deputy clerk shall issue a marriage license until the applicants make an application in writing, stating the names, ages, addresses and social security numbers of both the proposed male and female contracting parties and the names and addresses of the parents, guardian or next of kin of both parties.” The application must be sworn to by both parties. Id. The requirement of a social security number was added by legislative amendment, Acts 1997, ch. 551, 30, effective July 1, 1997.
Marriage ID Requirement Tennessee:
A valid driver license
State issued picture ID
State certified birth certificate
Social Security number must be given if applicant has one (T.C.A. 36-3-104)
Marriage Waiting Period Tennessee:
There is no waiting period. If all your paper work is in order you will receive your marriage license should be issued same day.
Marriage Residency Requirement Tennessee
You do not have to be a resident of Tennessee.
Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records
If you have been married previously, then you will need to provide a copy of your divorce decree.
Marriage License Fees Tennessee:
The marriage license fees varies from Tennessee county to county, so call ahead to the Hamblen County Clerk’s office to find out the fee and ask what form of payment is accepted. In some cases, you may need to bring cash.
Pre-marital Education:To qualify for the exemption by attending a premarital preparation course, both applicants must submit a notarized Certification of Completion completed by the course provider confirming the couple attended the course together, or separately, within one year of the date of application to the County Clerk for the license. This document must be notarized and presented at the time of payment and receipt of your license.The Certification of Completion form was developed by the Administrative Office of the Courts and defines the qualifications of persons who are eligible to conduct the four (4) hours of premarital preparation training as required by Chapter No. 854. Click here to print the Certificate of Completion form. This is the only form that can be accepted as proof of counseling.
According to Tennessee Statutes 36-6-413-b-2, non-residents in some counties can receive a $60 discount upon showing the county clerk proof that establishes they are not Tennessee residents. Call the Hamblen County Clerk’s office to see if this discount is applicable.
Proxy Marriages Tennessee:
No. However, if an individual is incarcerated or has a “disability that prevents the applicant from appearing”, a notarized statement containing the “person’s name, age, current address and the names and address of the parents or next of kin” may be accepted by the county clerk.
Cousin Marriages Tennessee:
Yes. A marriage to a first cousin is allowed.
Common Law Marriages Tennessee:
Common Law Marriages are not recognized in the state of Tennessee.
Blood Test Requirement Tennessee:
The State of Tennessee does not require a blood test.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements Tennessee: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
If either party is under the age of 18, they must be accompanied by a legal guardian.
If either party is under the age of 16, Tennessee law requires that the couple receive a court order before being allowed to marry.
Marriage Officiants Tennesee:
Any ordained or licensed clergymen over the age of 18, and justices of the peace, members of county legislative bodies, county executives and former county executives, current and former judges and chancellors of this state, current and former judges of general sessions courts, current and former governors of this state, the county clerk of each county, current and former speakers of the senate and speakers of the house of representatives, and Mayors of municipalities.
The authorized officiant must return the completed license within 3 days from the date of the marriage.
Marriage Witnesses Tennessee:
No witness is needed for the marriage to be recognized, but there is room on the marriage license for one witness to sign
Expiration Date of Marriage License Tennessee:
The marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days.
The license can only be used within the State of Tennessee.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage License
Tennessee Vital Records
Department of Health
421 5th Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37243
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Tennesee marriage license laws please visit Hamblen County Website.