Show By States
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Search Near By Location
State of South Dakota
Marriage License Requirements
The fee for a South Dakota marriage license is $40 and is required at the time of application.
Couples wishing to get married may obtain their marriage license from a Register of Deeds office in a South Dakota county.
Both applicants must be present for the application.
Minimum age to marry is 16 with parental consent and birth certificate
You do not need to be a South Dakota resident to get married.
There’s no waiting period
South Dakota does not require a blood test before a marriage license will be issued.
License may be used the same day.
License must be used within 20 days.
Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Both applicants’must be 18 years of age or older.
Both parties must be present.
A valid photo ID, such as a driver’s license, state ID or passport is required.
Both applicants’ Social Security numbers are also required, however, the Social Security card does not need to be provided.
The fee of $40.00
There is no blood test or waiting period required.
The license may be used the same day, and it must be used within 20 days from issue.
The license may be used anywhere within the State of South Dakota.
Marriage ID Requirement:
Tribal Photo ID
Marriage Waiting Period:
No waiting period.
Marriage Residency Requirement:
You do not have to be a resident of South Dakota.
Proof of divorce may be required.
Marriage License Fees:
The fee for a marriage license in South Dakota is $40.00. Please call ahead to ask what form of payment is accepted. In some cases, you may need to bring cash.
Common Law Marriages:
Marriage Blood Test:
Not required in South Dakota
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
Those 16 and 17 must have parental consent.
South Dakota law does not permit marriage of those under 16.
Marriage Officiants South Dakota:
Any ordained or licensed clergymen, justices of the supreme court, judges of the circuit court, magistrates, and justices of the peace.
Expiration Date of Marriage License:
Your marriage license is valid for 20 days, and may be used anywhere in South Dakota.
State Department of Health
600 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-2536
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding South Dakota marriage license laws please visit www.doh.sd.gov.