Show By States
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Search Near By Location
Marriage License Fee: $50.00
Ashland County Courthouse
142 W. 2nd Street
Ashland, Ohio 44805
8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. / M – F
(except for Court Approved Holidays)
Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage Application Requirement Ohio:
To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:
In order to obtain a marriage license in Ohio:
Both parties must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license in Ohio without parental consent.
Both parties must apply together in person.
If either or both parties are physically incapacitated, their physician must complete an affidavit stating the physical disability, and this affidavit shall be filed with the application for the marriage license.
Both parties must provide drivers licenses or some other valid photo identification.
Both parties must also know their social security number and it is preferred, but not required to have your social security card with you.
Both parties must complete the application.
Pay the necessary license fee.
Marriage ID Requirement Ohio:
State issued ID card
US Military ID
US Passport Card
Permanent Resident Card
Foreign Gov’t issued Passport
You need to know your social security numbers. All social security numbers are for identification purposes only and are held in confidence. It is not necessary to bring your social security card if you know your social security number.
Marriage Waiting Period Ohio:
There is no waiting period in Ohio.
Marriage Residency Requirement Ohio:
If you are not a resident of Ohio, but are getting married in Ohio, you must obtain your license in the county where the ceremony will take place.
If you are a resident of Ohio, you must apply for your marriage license in the county in which one or the other of you lives.
Applicant(s) must provide a certified copy of the most recent divorce/annulment/dissolution decree along with case numbers/dates/locations (county/state/country) of all previous marriages, names of previous spouses and all current minor children.
Applicants are not required to produce copies of death certificates for deceased spouses.
Marriage License Fees Ohio:
The marriage license fees varies from Ohio county to county, so call ahead to your local County Probate Court’s office to find out the fee and ask what form of payment is accepted. In some cases, you may need to bring cash.
Proxy Marriages Ohio:
Cousin Marriages Ohio:
No. Individuals may not marry nearer of kin than second cousins.
Common Law Marriages Ohio:
No, unless entered into a common law marriage before October 10, 1991.
Blood Test Requirement Ohio:
Blood tests are no longer required in the State of Ohio.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements Ohio: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
Ohio law requires all applicants under eighteen years of age to have a letter from their minister or a marriage counselor stating that they have received pre-marital counseling.
All applicants under eighteen years of age must also have the consent of both parents, or surviving parent, or the parent who has custody or the legal guardian of his or her person or any person having custody under Ohio Revised Code Section 3101.01.
Applicants under the minimum age must first obtain approval of the Juvenile Court.
Marriage Officiants Ohio:
Only an ordained or licensed officiant who is registered with the Secretary of the State of Ohio, a judge, a mayor, or the Superintendent of the State School for the Deaf may solemnize a marriage.
Marriage Witnesses Ohio:
No. Witnesses are not required by law to sign the license.
Marriage License Validity Time Ohio:
The license is valid for (60) days from its date of issuance.
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Ohio Department of Health
35 East Chestnut Street, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 15098
Columbus, OH 43215-0098
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Ohio marriage license laws and records please visit www.ohio.gov.