Show By States
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Search Near By Location
State of Noth Dakota
Marriage License Requirements
License Fee: ($65). Some counties may require cash only.
Minimum Age: (18). If the applicant is between sixteen and eighteen years of age, a marriage license may not be issued without the notarized statement of consent by the parents or guardian.
Waiting Period: None.
License Validity: (60) Days.
Blood Test: Not Required.
Residency: Not Required.
Witnesses: You must bring two people (related or non-related) to sign as witnesses on the marriage license.
Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage ID Requirement Noth Dakota:
To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:
In order to obtain a marriage license in North Dakota:
Both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
Both parties must apply together in person.
Both parties must provide drivers licenses or some other valid photo identification.
Both parties must also know their social security number and it is preferred, but not required to have your social security card with you.
Both parties must complete the application.
Pay the necessary license fee.
Marriage ID Requirement:
State issued ID card
US Military ID
US Passport Card
Permanent Resident Card
Foreign Gov’t issued Passport
Marriage Waiting Period:
In the state of North Dakota there is no waiting period after you apply for the license before the marriage may take place.
Marriage Residency Requirement:
None. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of North Dakota to obtain a marriage license.
If either party has been divorced, you must purchase a certified copy of the most recent divorce decree by contacting the clerk of court’s office in the county in which you were divorced. This certified copy must be kept in our office with your marriage application.
State Law requires a certified copy of the Divorce Decree to keep with the Marriage License Application.
Marriage License Fees:
A marriage license in North Dakota will cost you ($65). Some counties may require cash only.
No, getting married by proxy is not allowed in North Dakota.
No, cousin marriages are not allowed.
Common Law Marriages:
No, common-law marriages are not allowed in North Dakota.
Marriage Blood Test:
No blood test or physical exam is required.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
If applicants are under the age of 18, ages 16 and 17 only, you must have the written consent of both parents or legal guardians.
The parents or legal guardians must be present at the time of the application.
Legal guardians must bring with legal proof of guardianship.
Marriage Officiants Noth Dakota:
Justices of the peace and any ordained minister may perform marriages in North Dakota.
You must bring two people (related or non-related) to sign as witnesses on the marriage license.
Expiration Date of Marriage License:
The license must be used within 60 days and may be used anywhere in North Dakota.
If the license is unused it will be expired and no refunds are available.
If the couple still wishes to get married they will have to purchase a new marriage license.
Division of Vital Records
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0200
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Noth Dakota marriage license laws and records please visit www.nd.gov.