Yellowstone County Marriage License, MT
Marriage License Requirements
Marriage License Fee: $53
Clerk of District Court
217 N 27th St
Billings, MT 59107
Rms 702, 703, & 704
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F
(except for Court Approved Holidays)
Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
As of June 1, 2015 a marriage license can be obtained by appointment only. To schedule an appointment to obtain your marriage license please use the online appointment calendar, call 406.256.2869 or email [email protected]
Each spouse must be 16 yrs of age or older (Montana Law does not allow marriages under age 16)
Each spouse must be present to make application.
Each spouse must provide a Driver’s License, State ID or Current Picture ID.
To complete the application, Each spouse must know the full name of their parents (mother’s maiden name) and place of birth.
It is important that you verify all information with your local county clerk of district court office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license.
Marriage ID Requirement in Montana:
Picture ID and Proof of age:
Social security number for Each spouse
Valid Driver’s License
State issued ID
If birth certificate not provided, we will need Each spouse:
Birthplace (city, county, state or foreign country)
Parents’ full names, including mother’s maiden
Parents’ birth state.
Required to complete the application.
Marriage Residency Requirement:
No. Montana does not have a residency requirement for marriage licenses.
Marriage Waiting Period in Montana:
The license is effective immediately upon issuance and expires after 180 days.
Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records
If either party was previously married and divorced, they must provide a copy of their most recent Divorce Decree.
Marriage License Fee Montana:
The fee for a marriage license is $53 in Montana. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.
Marriage Blood Test Montana:
The bride, if under the age of 50, must provide proof of a Rubella blood test or a doctor’s statement regarding sterilization. This information must be submitted on the State of Montana Premarital Certificate and must be signed by a physician. Or the bride and groom may choose to read and sign an Informed consent Waiver (part B of the Premarital Certificate) which waives the requirement for the medical certification of blood testing for rubella immunity. This form may be obtained from the Clerk of District Court in any county in the State of Montana.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
Parental Consent – Parent of legal guardian must sign Marriage Application.
Counseling – Proof of two counseling sessions, ten days apart, with a court approved counselor.
Judicial Approval – A District court judge must approve and sign Marriage Application. A judge may require a conference with applicants and guardians(s).
Yes. Any marriage by proxy may be found under Sections 40-1-301(2) and 40-1-213(3).
Common Law Marriages:
Marriage Officiants Montana:
Persons who may now solemnize a marriage include a judge of a court of record, a public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages, by a mayor, city judge or justice of the peace, by a tribal judge, or in accordance with any mode of solemnization recognized by any religious denomination, Indian nation or tribe, or native group (40-1-301).
Expiration Date of Marriage License:
Marriage licenses are valid for 180 days from the date of issuance.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage License
Department of Health and Human Services
Vital Statistics Bureau
111 N. Sanders, Room 205
Helena, MT 59620
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Additional information regarding Montana marriage license laws and records please visit www.dphhs.mt.gov.