Watonwan Marriage License, MN
Marriage License Requirements
Marriage License Fees:
$115.00 – wo/ Premarital Course Certificate
$40.00 – w/ Premarital Course Certificate
Watonwan County Recorder
715 Third Avenue South
St. James, MN 56520
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., closed 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. / M – F
(except for Court Approved Holidays)
Minnesota Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage Application Requirement Minnesota: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:
Both applicants should apply in person. However, if one of the parties cannot appear in person, a supplemental will be given to the party appearing before us to be completed by the non-appearing marriage applicant.
You must know the following information for both parties:
Full Names – before and after marriage
Addresses – before and after marriage
Counties where each person lives
Date of Birth
Place of Birth
Provide social security numbers for each party. There is an additional form to complete for those individuals who do not have a social security number and can be obtained at the office.
If 1 or both applicants has a felony conviction, please read Minnesota statute MS 259.13 for requirements.
The marriage license fee is $40.00 with Premarital Education completed. $115.00 without Premarital Education.
Fee must be paid at the time you apply for the license.
Both parties applying for the marriage license must be present to complete the application.
There is no waiting period in Minnesota.
Be sure to contact your local Watonwan County Recorder’s Office well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the County Recorder will be in the office. Some locales may require an appointment.
Marriage ID Requirement Minnesota:
Identification such as a valid driver’s license or state I.D.
Marriage Residency Requirement Minnesota:
You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota.
Marriage Waiting Period Minnesota:
There is a five-day waiting period between the time the application is signed and the license is issued.
Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records
If either or both applicants has/have been married previously, information regarding the termination of the most recent marriage is required, i.e., date, location, and if the previous marriage ended in divorce, the name of the court (i.e. 6th Judicial) where the marriage was terminated.
Marriage License Fee Minnesota:
The fee for a marriage license is $115.00, or $40.00 if you have completed 12 hours of premarital education.
Premarital Education Minnesota:
To qualify for the reduced fee, you must present at the time of application an acceptable Statement of Premarital Education Form on the educator’s letter head (sample). It must be signed, dated, and notarized.
Marriage Blood Test Minnesota:
No. Minnesota does not require blood tests.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements Minnesota: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate
Couples who are 16 and 17 years old need parental consent or court approval, please read Minnesota statute MS 259.13 for requirements.
Proxy Marriages Minnesota:
No. However, if only one of you can be in person to apply for the marriage license you can fill out a Supplemental to Application for Marriage License for Party Not Appearing as long as all the required information for the absent partner is provided. Call your local Watonwan County Recorder’s Office to see how to get your partner’s signature notarized. Requirements do vary from county to county.
Cousin Marriages Minnesota:
Common Law Marriages Minnesota:
Same Sex Marriages Minnesota:
Yes, as of August 1, 2013.
It is important that you verify all information with your local Watonwan County Recorder’s Office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license.
Expiration Date of Marriage License Minnesota:
Your marriage license is valid for 6 months, and may be used anywhere in Minnesota.
The official who performs the marriage ceremony should file the marriage license within 5 days of the ceremony (MS 517.10)
Marriage Witness Minnesota:
A marriage must be witnessed by 2 adults (16 or older)
Copy of Certificate of Marriage License
Michigan Department of Public Health
Bureau of Vital Statistics
434 Monroe St.
Montgomery, Michigan 36130-3017
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Additional information can be found on the Watonwan County Recorder website.