Baltimore County Marriage License, MD
Marriage License Requirements
Maryland Title 2. Marriage
Marriage License Fee: $35.00
401 Bosley Avenue
Towson, MD 21204
8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m./ M – F
(except for Court Approved Holidays)
Baltimore Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Baltimore Wedding Officiant.
Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.
Marriage Application Requirement Maryland:
To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:
One or both parties to be married must appear in person with proper identification (driver’s license, birth certificate, military ID or
passport, etc) for both parties and give, under oath, the following information:
Full name of each party.
Place of residence of each party.
The age of each party.
State or Country of Birth.
*Social Security Numbers for each party are required.
Whether the parties are related by blood or marriage and, if so, in which degree of the relationship.
The marital status of each party – Single (never married), Divorced or Widowed.
If previously married, Applicant must provide the complete final date of divorce, or if widowed, the complete date of death,
Applicant must sign application.
At the time of application, the marriage license will be issued. HOWEVER, the license may not be used prior to the effective date,
which is 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar date after issuance.
* The license application provides for the mandatory disclosure of Social Security numbers of both parties. Social Security numbers
are required by law and will not print on the marriage application. If applicant is a foreign national and does not have a social
security number, the applicant must be present and sign an affidavit.
Marriage ID Requirement in Maryland:
If you are between 18 – 21, you must provide identification in the following form:
Alien Registration Card
and Social Security Number
Marriage Residency Requirement Maryland:
You do not have to be a resident of Maryland. However, you must be married in the county where you purchased your license.
Marriage Waiting Period Requirement Maryland:
After application, the license, which is not effective until 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar day, will be issued. (i.e. 48 hour waiting
period) The license must be used within 6 months (you must marry within 6 months or the license will be void).
Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records
If previously married, Applicant must provide the complete final date of divorce, or if widowed, the complete date of death, where
Marriage License Fee Maryland:
Maryland marriage license fees vary from county to county. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of
payment, please call ahead.
Marriage Blood Test Requirement Maryland:
A blood test is not required in the state of Maryland.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you
need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage Age Requirements Maryland:
An individual 16 or 17 years old may not marry unless:
The individual has the consent of a parent or guardian and the parent makes oath that the individual is at least 16 years old
If the individual does not have the consent of a parent or guardian, either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a
licensed physician stating that the physician has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to
An individual 15 years old may not marry unless:
The individual has the consent of a parent or guardian and
Either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician stating that the physician has examined the woman
to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child.
An individual under the age of 15 may not marry.
Proxy Marriages Maryland:
Cousin Marriages Maryland:
Yes. First and second cousins may legally marry in Maryland.
Common Law Marriages Maryland:
Marriage Officiants Maryland:
Official of a religious order or a deputy clerk or a judge.[the_ad id="38147"]
Marriage Witnesses Maryland:
Maryland does not require witnesses.
Expiration Date of Marriage License Maryland:
License is valid for 6 months.
Copy of Certificate of
Maryland Division of Vital Records
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
P.O. Box 68760
Baltimore, MD 21215-0020
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance
only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Maryland marriage license records please visit Maryland Courts website.