United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status



 


Marriage Laws  »  Marriage License  »  Maryland  »  Maryland Marriage Laws  »  Maryland State, MD


Maryland State, MD

State of Maryland
Marriage License Requirements

Maryland Title 2. Marriage

Marriage License Fee: (fees vary from county to county)

  • Both parties must be over 18 years of age. Under age 18.

  • Eighteen (18) is the legal age one can be married without parental consent.

  • A blood test is not required in the state of Maryland.

  • In Maryland there is a 48-hour waiting period between obtaining a license and getting married.

  • Marriage license is valid for 6 months.

  • The fee for a Maryland marriage license varies by county and is required at the time of application.

  • Maryland requires that a marriage license be obtained from the Circuit Court Clerk’s office in the county where the marriage is to take place regardless of the residency of the couple to be married.

  • Witnesses: Maryland does not require witnesses.


Maryland Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best MD Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Allegany Anne Arundel
Baltimore City Baltimore Cnty
Calvert Caroline
Carroll Cecil
Charles Dorchester
Frederick Garrett
Harford Howard
Kent Montgomery
Prince Georges Queen Annes
Somerset St. Marys
Talbot Washington
Wicomico Worcester


Maryland Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best MD Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Marriage Application Requirement Arizona:

To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:

One or both parties to be married must appear in person with proper identification (driver’s license, birth certificate, military ID or passport, etc) for both parties and give, under oath, the following information:

  • Full name of each party.

  • Place of residence of each party.

  • The age of each party.

  • State or Country of Birth.

  • *Social Security Numbers for each party are required.

  • Whether the parties are related by blood or marriage and, if so, in which degree of the relationship.

  • The marital status of each party – Single (never married), Divorced or Widowed.

  • If previously married, Applicant must provide the complete final date of divorce, or if widowed, the complete date of death, where applicable.

  • Applicant must sign application.

  • At the time of application, the marriage license will be issued. HOWEVER, the license may not be used prior to the effective date, which is 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar date after issuance.

* The license application provides for the mandatory disclosure of Social Security numbers of both parties. Social Security numbers are required by law and will not print on the marriage application. If applicant is a foreign national and does not have a social security number, the applicant must be present and sign an affidavit.


Marriage ID Requirement in Maryland:

If you are between 18 – 21, you must provide identification in the following form:

  • Drivers license

  • Birth certificate

  • Passport

  • Military I.D

  • Alien Registration Card

  • and Social Security Number


Marriage Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Maryland. However, you must be married in the county where you purchased your license.


Marriage Waiting Period in Maryland:

After application, the license, which is not effective until 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar day, will be issued. (i.e. 48 hour waiting period) The license must be used within 6 months (you must marry within 6 months or the license will be void).


Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

If previously married, Applicant must provide the complete final date of divorce, or if widowed, the complete date of death, where applicable.


Marriage License Fee Maryland:

Maryland marriage license fees vary from county to county. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.


Marriage Blood Test Maryland:

A blood test is not required in the state of Maryland.


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Marriage Age Requirements:

An individual 16 or 17 years old may not marry unless:

  1. The individual has the consent of a parent or guardian and the parent makes oath that the individual is at least 16 years old or:

  2. If the individual does not have the consent of a parent or guardian, either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician stating that the physician has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child.

An individual 15 years old may not marry unless:

  1. The individual has the consent of a parent or guardian and

  2. Either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician stating that the physician has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child.

An individual under the age of 15 may not marry.


Proxy Marriages:

No.


Cousin Marriages Maryland:

Yes. First and second cousins may legally marry in Maryland.


Commom Law Marriages:

No.



Expiration Date of Marriage License:

License is valid for 6 months.


Marriage Officiants:

Official of a religious order or a deputy clerk or a judge.


Marriage Witnesses:

Maryland does not require witnesses.


Copy of Certificate of Marriage

Maryland Division of Vital Records
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
P.O. Box 68760
Baltimore, MD 21215-0020
Ph: 410.764.3038


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Additional information can be found on the Maryland Courts website.