Search Divorce Records

Marriage Witnesses Requirements by State

It is customary to have witnesses to the marriage, although they are not required in all states. Those that do require the witness or witnesses need to be 16 years of age or over with proper identification to make a ceremony valid. Witness or witnesses will print their name(s) on the marriage license as verification of their presence.

Local Officiants

Some states require the signature of two (2) witnesses 16 or older, present to testify to the circumstances in which the wedding ceremony was performed, including the date and place. Photo identification with date of birth is required of witnesses.


  • Alabama: Witnesses are not required by Alabama law.

  • Alaska: Alaska law requires the ceremony must be witnessed by at least two (2) people for the wedding ceremony.

  • Arizona: Marriage licenses must be signed by the couple, two (2) witnesses age 18 or over, and the officiating minister in Arizona.


  • Arkansas: Witnesses are not required by Arkansas law.

  • California: The California public marriage license requires the signature of one witness, and if desired, has a place for an additional witness. No more than two (2) witnesses may sign on the public marriage license. Only one signature per line is allowed. No witnesses may sign on the confidential marriage
    license.

  • Colorado: Witnesses are not required in Colorado. Some clergy, judges, or public officials may request them.

  • Connecticut: Connecticut law does not require that there be any witnesses (although religious entities may require witnesses).

  • Delaware: Two (2) witnesses are required, at least 18 years of age, at the time of the ceremony in Delaware.

  • District of Columbia: No witnesses are required for wedding ceremonies in Washington, DC. No signature other than that of the officiant is required on the certificate.

  • Florida: Witnesses are not required by Florida law.

  • Georgia: Only if the person performing the ceremony does not complete the form, you will need two (2) witnesses to the ceremony in order to obtain the marriage certificate.

  • Hawaii: Witnesses are not required by Hawaii law.

  • Idaho: Witnesses are not required by Idaho law.

  • Illinois: Witnesses are not required by Illinois law.

  • Indiana: Witnesses are no longer required by Indiana law.

  • Iowa: You need to have one (1) witness who is over the age of 18 with you when you apply for the marriage license. The applicants and witness must have a photo I.D.

  • Kansas: Kansas law require at least two (2) witnesses be present at your marriage ceremony. Witnesses must be age 18 or older.

  • Kentucky: Kentucky law require two (2) persons other than those being married and the person solemnizing the marriage must be present as witnesses.

  • Louisiana: Louisiana law require two (2) witnesses to sign the marriage license at the time of the ceremony.

  • Maine: Maine law require the ceremony must be witnessed by at least two (2) people other than the officiant, and signed by the couple, the officiant and witnesses.

  • Maryland: Witnesses are not required by Maryland law.

  • Massachusetts: Witnesses are not required by Massachusetts law.

  • Michigan: Michigan law requires two (2) witnesses (who must be at least 18 years of age).

  • Minnesota: Minnesota law requires two (2) witnesses (who must be at least 16 years of age)

  • Mississippi: Witnesses are not required by Mississippi law.

  • Missouri: Witnesses are not required by Missouri law.

  • Montana: Witnesses are not required to attend your ceremony.

  • Nebraska: Two (2) witnesses are required to be present at your marriage ceremony.

  • Nevada: One (1) witness other than the individual performing the ceremony is required.

  • New Hampshire: Witnesses are not required to attend your ceremony.

  • New Jersey: One (1) witness (18 years or older) who knows both applicants.

  • New Mexico: You will need two (2) witnesses at your ceremony to sign the marriage license.

  • New York: You are required to have at least one (1) witness, 18-years or older.

  • North Carolina: Two (2) witnesses are required for all marriage ceremonies.

  • North Dakota: You must bring two (2) people (related or non-related) to sign as witnesses on the marriage license.

  • Ohio: Witnesses are not required by Ohio law to sign the marriage license.

  • Oklahoma: An Oklahoma marriage license will require the signature of two (2) witnesses.

  • Oregon: Two (2) witnesses who are at least 18 years of age are needed at the wedding ceremony.

  • Pennsylvania: Witnesses are not required by Pennsylvania law.

  • Rhode Island: The marriage must take place in the presence of two (2) witnesses who have reached legal age (18 years of age).

  • South Carolina: Witnesses are not required for marriage in South Carolina.

  • South Dakota: You will need one (1) witnesses to be present at your marriage ceremony

  • Tennessee: Witnesses are not needed for the marriage to be recognized, but there is room on the marriage license for one witness to sign.

  • Texas: Witnesses are not required by Texas law.

  • Utah: Two (2) witnesses over 18 must also be present at the wedding ceremony.

  • Vermont: Witnesses are not required by Vermont law.

  • Virginia: There is no statutory requirement that witnesses be present at the marriage ceremony.

  • Washington: Two (2) witnesses must be present at your ceremony and sign the marriage license.

  • West Virginia: There is no statutory requirement that witnesses be present at the marriage ceremony.

  • Wisconsin: Two (2) competent adult witnesses must be physically present together at the time of the ceremony in order for the marriage to be legal.

  • Wyoming: Two (2) witnesses are required at the marriage ceremony.

Marriage Records

Birth Certificate

Search by State

State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request.

United States Marriage License Laws