Search Divorce Records

Hartford Marriage License, CT

Local Officiants

City/Town of Hartford
Marriage License Requirements

Connecticut Code Title 46b. Family Law

Marriage License Fee: $30.00

City Hall
550 Main St., Ground Flr., Room 103
Hartford, CT 06103-2992
Ph: 860.757.9690
Fx: 860.722.8041
8:15 a.m. – 4:45 p.m. / M – F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

Connecticut Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best CT Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

avon Berlin
Bloomfield Bristol
Burlington Canton
E. Granby E. Hartford
E. Windsor Enfield
Farmington Glastonbury
Granby Hartland
Hartford Manchester
Marlborough New Britain
Newington Plainville
Rocky Hill Simsbury
S. Windsor Southington
Suffield W. Hartford
Wethersfield Windsor
Windsor Locks


Marriage Application Requirement Connecticut:

To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:

  • Couples are advise to apply for their license about two weeks before the ceremony.

  • Both applicants must personally appear.

  • Either applicant may start the application process; however, the other party must appear before the wedding to sign the application.

  • Valid form of identification (driver’s license, resident ID, passport or birth certificate)

  • Social Security cards

  • Name, address and phone number of the person performing the Ceremony

  • Address where the ceremony will take place

  • Date of marriage

  • $30 marriage license fee.

  • Marriage license is valid for 65 days from the date of application.


Marriage ID Requirement Connecticut:

  • Birth Certificate

  • Valid Driver’s License

  • Passport

  • Valid state identification card

  • Military identification

  • Alien Registration Card (Green card)


Marriage Waiting Period Connecticut:

There is no waiting period between applying for and receiving your license.


Marriage Residency Requirement Connecticut:

You do not have to be a resident of Connecticut, but you do need to apply in either the town where one applicant lives, or in the town where you plan on getting married.


Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

You will need to show your divorce decree, or have information regarding date, county and state of death of previous spouse. If your name has changed, you need to bring a certified copy of your divorce decree.


Marriage License Fee Connecticut:

Connecticut marriage license fee is $30.



Proxy Marriages Connecticut:

No. Proxy marriages are not allowed in Connecticut.


Cousin Marriages Connecticut:

Yes. First and second cousins may legally marry in Connecticut.


Common Law Marriages Connecticut:

No.


Marriage Blood Test Connecticut:

No blood test or physical exam is required.


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Marriage Age Requirements Connecticut: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

  • If you are under age 18, you need to obtain written consent from a parent, guardian, or in the absence of such parent or guardian, a probate court judge.

  • If under age 16, you need to obtain written consent from a probate court judge.

  • If a person who wishes to marry has a conservator, the conservator must appear in person with a government issued picture identification, proof of conservatorship, and a written statement of consent.


Marriage Ceremony Requirement Connecticut:

Before the ceremony is performed, the license should be given to officiating person
(Minister or Justice of Peace). They must sign and date the license in black ink after the ceremony is performed and return the license to the Municipal Clerk’s Office in the town where the ceremony takes place.


Marriage Officiants Connecticut:

  • All Connecticut judges and retired judges;

  • All federal judges and judges from any state who are authorized to marry;

  • All Connecticut justices of the peace, family support magistrates and state referees; and

  • Ordained clergy from any state provided they are currently in the ministry.


Marriage Witnesses Connecticut:

Connecticut does not require that there be any witnesses (although religious entities may require witnesses).


Expiration Date of Marriage License Connecticut:

  • Marriage license is valid for 65 days from the date of application.

  • Your wedding date must not be more then 65 days after you apply for the license.


Copy of Certificate of Marriage License

Copies of Connecticut marriage records (for marriage licenses that were issued in Connecticut). You may order copies of Connecticut vital records through everify on an expedited basis.


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Connecticut marriage license laws please visit /www.hartford.gov.

Marriage Records

Birth Certificate

Search by State

State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request.

United States Marriage License Laws