Search Divorce Records

Santa Barbara County Marriage License, CA

Local Officiants

Santa Barbara County
Marriage License Requirements

California Code §§ 300-500 FAM

Public license Fee: $100
Confidential License Fee: $110

Santa Barbara
1100 Anacapa Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Ph: 805.568.2250
Fx: 805.568.2266
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. / M – F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

Santa Maria
511 E. Lakeside Parkway
Suite 115
Santa Maria, CA 93455-1341
Ph: 805.346.8370
Fx: 805.346.8371
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. / M – F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

401 E. Cypress St.
Room 102
Lompoc, CA 93436
Ph: 805.737.7705
Fx: 805.737.7708
9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.; closed 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. / M, W, F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

California Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best CA Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Before a marriage license can be issued, First Person and Second Person must must apply together at any one of the three (3) offices listed above and bring in a valid photo I.D. (e.g., drivers license, military I.D., passport, or green card, etc.)

Once you enter the office, direct yourselves to the marriage license application kiosks to input your information; once you submit the information, complete the process at one of the counter windows. Please review the Marriage Equality Act of 2007 located next to the marriage kiosks. The license will be issued in approximately thirty (30) minutes. Once the license is issued to the couple they may use it immediately.

  • A regular marriage license may be used anywhere in the state of California within a period of ninety (90) days from the date of issuance
  • A confidential marriage license may only be used in Santa Barbara County within a period of ninety (90) days from the date of issuance.

There are two different types of marriage licenses in California, and they can be obtained in two different ways.

Confidential Marriage License and a Public Marriage License:

  • A “public” California marriage license is a marriage license that is available to the public for viewing.
  • A “confidential” marriage license allows all the personal information on a marriage license to be protected from public view. Only a court order or a notarized application by either spouses can obtain a copy of the information.

The following information is required on a marriage license application.

For both spouses, or party A and party B, the information needed for marriage license requirements is below.

  • A valid driver’s license or a DMV issued Identification Card. If you do not have either of these, you must provide
    a certified copy of your birth certificate and another acceptable form of picture I.D.
  • To obtain a Confidential Marriage License, party A and party B must be living together as a married couple.
  1. You will need to bring in proof of this in the form of your valid driver’s licenses showing the same address or a bill addressed to both of you at the same address.
  2. You can only be married in Santa Barbara County.

  • No witnesses are required.
  • The same I.D. requirements as mentioned above are applicable.
  • Marriage ID Requirement California: Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

    A valid photo I.D. is required (e.g., drivers license, military I.D., passport, or green card, etc.)

    • Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara County Marriage License, CA

    Marriage Waiting Period Requirement California:

    There is no waiting period. You will receive your marriage license immediately after you submit your application.

    Marriage Residency Requirement California:

    Applicants are not required to be U.S. citizens or residents of the State of California or of Santa Barbara County. Current government-issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license or passport, is required.

    Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

    If either applicant has been divorced or has terminated a state registered domestic partnership within the last ninety (90) days, a certified copy of the final dissolution of marriage or termination of domestic partnership is required.

    • Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara County Marriage License, CA

    Marriage License Fee California:

    It will cost you $100 for a public license and $110 for a confidential license. Preferred method of payment is by cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.

    Proxy Marriages California:

    Marriage by proxy is NOT allowed in California. Family Code, Section 420(a), requires the two parties, marriage officiant and witness if applicable be physically present together in the same location for the marriage to be performed.

    Cousin Marriages California:

    Yes. First and second cousins may legally marry in California.

    Common Law Marriages California:


    • Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara County Marriage License, CA

    Marriage Blood Test California:

    Blood tests are NOT required to obtain a marriage license in California.

    Name Change California:

    Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

    • Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara County Marriage License, CA

    Marriage Age Requirement California: Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

    When one or both of the applicants is/are under the age of eighteen (18), arrangements must be made with the Santa Barbara Superior Court at 805-882-4520 in Santa Barbara or 805-614-6414 in Santa Maria and Lompoc. Once the judge approves the marriage, the couple must come into the Clerk, Recorder’s Office with a certified copy of the court order and government-issued photo ID. Minors may only purchase a regular marriage license.

    Marriage Officiants: » Affordable California Wedding Officiants

    California Family Code, Section 400 states the persons authorized to solemnize marriage ceremonies in California are as follows:

    • A priest, minister, or rabbi of any religious denomination.

    • A judge or retired judge, commissioner of civil marriages or retired commissioner of civil marriages, commissioner or retired commissioner, or assistant commissioner of a court of record in this state.

    • A judge or magistrate who has resigned from office.

    • Any of the following judges or magistrates of the United States.

    • A justice or retired justice of the United States Supreme Court.

    • A judge or retired judge of a court of appeals, a district court, or a court created by an act of Congress the judges of which are entitled to hold office during good behavior.

    • A judge or retired judge of a bankruptcy court or a tax court.

    • A United States magistrate or retired magistrate.

    • A legislator or constitutional officer of this state or a member of Congress who represents a district within this state, while that person holds office.

    The person solemnizing the marriage must return the original marriage license to the County Clerk or County Recorder as applicable within 10 days of the date of the ceremony. Addresses should be on the county site.

    You will NOT receive a copy of your marriage license after you have been married unless you request and pay for a certified copy from the County Clerk or County Recorder as applicable.

    ALL information on the marriage license MUST be legible, unambiguous and reproducible. DO NOT change any information on the license, cross out information, use white out, etc., as that will require the payment for and issuance of a duplicate marriage license. Contact the County Clerk’s Office if you have questions about completing the marriage license and/or incorrect information contained on the marriage license.

    [the_ad id="38147"]
    • Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara County Marriage License, CA

    Marriage Witnesses California:

    The public marriage license requires the signature of one witness,
    and if desired, has a place for an additional witness. No more than two
    witnesses may sign on the public marriage license. Only one signature
    per line is allowed. No witnesses may sign on the confidential marriage

    Expiration Date of Marriage License California:

    • Marriage licenses are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance. If you do
      not get married within 90 days, the license will no longer be valid. You must
      purchase a new license.
    • Public Marriage License can be used throughout the state of California.
    • Confidential Marriage License can be used throughout the state of California (Effective January 1, 2015).

    Copy of Certificate of Marriage License

    California birth, death, fetal death, still birth, marriage and divorce records are maintained by the California Department of Public Health Vital Records.

    Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding California marriage license laws please visit

    Marriage Records

    Birth Certificate

    Search by State

    State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request.

    United States Marriage License Laws