Search Divorce Records

Madison County Marriage Certificate, AL

Local Officiants

Madison County
Marriage Certificate Requirements

Ala.Act 2019-340

Marriage Certificate Fee: $89.00

Madison County Courthouse
100 N Side Sq, Room 101
Huntsville, AL 35801
Ph: (256) 532-3330
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m./ M – F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

Apply for a Marriage Certificate:

  • Legal Age with Parental Consent: 16.
  • Legal Age without Parental Consent: 18.
  • Same Sex Marriage: Yes.
  • Waiting Period: None.
  • Certificate Validity: 30 Days.
  • Blood Test: Not Required.
  • Residency: Not Required.
  • Witnesses: In Alabama witnesses are not required.

Under Alabama Act 2019-340, persons wishing to become married are no longer required to file an application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no longer issue marriage licenses. Furthermore, all Alabama probate courts will now be required to record marriage certificates.

The Alabama Marriage Certificate represents a contractual agreement between the parties to the marriage, completed by both parties and delivered to the probate court for recording. Once properly completed and recorded, the marriage is valid. A wedding ceremony may be performed for the parties, but solemnization is no longer required for a recognized marriage in Alabama.

Alabama Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best AL Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage Certificate Requirement Alabama:

To complete the marriage certificate form, a couple must:

  • Obtain a standardized marriage certificate form provided by the state, county probate judge’s office or online.
  • Fully complete the form. The form requests the same basic information about each spouse that is currently used.
  • Take the marriage certificate form to a notary to witness signatures. Notary services for the form is not be provided by the Probate Office
  • Deliver the original, fully completed, and notarized form to the county Probate Judge’s office for recording, along with the filing fee from that county. The fee varies by county.
  • The form must be submitted with 30 days of being signed.
  • The effective date of the marriage is the latter of the dates of the signature of the spouses.
  • Once properly completed and recorded by the probate court, the marriage is legal.
  • Here is the document to be used by adult applicants.
  • Here is the document for applicants aged 16-17. Those applicants require the consent of a parent or guardian to enter into marriage.
  • It is important that you verify all information with your local County Probate office before making a trip to purchase your marriage certificate.

Please note: The form should be printed on 8.5 x 11 inch white or light paper, front side only, as actual size, not “fit to page” or another modified size. The County Probate Office will not accept handwritten forms to ensure that all information is legible, and the document is properly recorded.

Marriage ID Requirement Alabama: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

If you are 18 or older, to obtain a marriage certificate in Alabama you must bring one of the following forms of identification plus your Social Security card:

  • A valid driver’s license

  • Non-Driver’s license

  • Passport

  • A copy of your birth certificate certified by the State or County

  • A military identification

  • A certified school record

  • If you have been divorced, please be prepared to tell us when. You may not apply for a license within 60 days after your divorce was granted unless you are remarrying your former spouse.

Marriage Residency Requirement Alabama:

You do not have to be a resident of Alabama.

  • Madison County Marriage Certificates, Madison  County Marriage Certificate, AL

Marriage Waiting Period Requirement Alabama:

There is no waiting period in Alabama except after being divorced. Then there is a 60 day waiting period after your divorce is final.

Non-residents who want to be married by a county marriage official may have to wait three days. Please contact the County Probate office to verify whether or not you will have a waiting period.

Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

If you were divorced within the last 6 months of your wedding date, you will need to show a copy of your Divorce Decree. According to Section 30-2-10 of the Alabama Code, there is a sixty (60) day restriction on getting married after a divorce.

Marriage Certificate Fee Alabama:

Madison marriage certificate fee is $89. Preferred method of payment is cash.

  • Madison County Marriage Certificates, Madison  County Marriage Certificate, AL

Marriage Blood Test Alabama:

No. A premarital blood test is no longer required in Alabama.

Name Change Alabama:

Getting a marriage certificate with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

  • Madison County Marriage Certificates, Madison  County Marriage Certificate, AL

Marriage Age Requirements Alabama: ✔ Get Copy Of Birth Certificate

Proxy Marriages Alabama:

No. Proxy marriage is not permitted in Alabama, so no other party may apply on behalf of either spouse.

Cousin Marriages Alabama:

Yes. First and second cousins may legally marry in Alabama.

Common Law Marriages Alabama:

Yes. A valid common law marriage exists in AL when there is capacity to enter into a marriage, present agreement or consent to be husband and wife, public recognition of the existence of the marriage, and consummation.

Marriage Officiants:

Solemnization is no longer required for a recognized marriage in Alabama.

Alabama Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best AL Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Expiration Date of Marriage Certificate Alabama:

Marriage certificates are valid for 30 days from the date of being signed. The effective date of the marriage is the latter of the dates of the signature of the spouses.

Copy of Marriage Certificate

Alabama Department of Public Health
Bureau of Vital Statistics
434 Monroe St.
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-3017
Ph: 334.613.5300
Fx: 334.240.3097

Please Note: State and county marriage certificate requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Alabama marriage certificate laws and records please visit Madison County website.

Marriage Records

Birth Certificate

Search by State

State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request.

United States Marriage License Laws