Affordable Wedding Officiants




Marriage Laws U.S. Wisconsin Milwaukee County Clerk

Marriage license Laws in Milwaukee County, Wisconsin. Here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the Wisconsin marriage laws before filling out the Wisconsin marriage license application.

What's the Cost of a Marriage License?

Wisconsin law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a license application fee.

The marriage license fee in Milwaukee is $105 (cash only) payable at the time of filing an application.

Milwaukee County Marriage License Office

Milwaukee County Clerk
901 North Ninth Street, Room 105
Milwaukee, WI 53233
(414) 278-4067
(414) 278-4070 (Marriage License Recording Info.)
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays.

Local Wisconsin wedding officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Wisconsin officiants. You choose the best WI wedding officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage License Milwaukee County, WI

Here's what you need to know to make the marriage legal in Wisconsin. Haz clic aqui para espanol

Where to Apply:

Marriage license applications can be completed Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. in the Office of the Milwaukee County Clerk, County Courthouse - Room 105, 901 North Ninth Street, Milwaukee.

Residents of Wisconsin must apply before the county clerk of the county in which either the bride or groom is a resident. The license issued in that county may be used anywhere in the State of Wisconsin.

When both the bridge and groom are non residents, they must apply in the county in which they are to be married.

When to Apply:

A wedding date must be set prior to application. The marriage license application must be completed at least seven (7) days but not more than thirty (30) days before the wedding date. The license is valid for 30 days upon the issuance date.

Who May Marry:

The minimum age to marry is eighteen (18) years of age. Applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age must have both parents' consent or the consent of their legal guardian. A consent form must be completed, signed, and notarized. This form is available in the Office of the County Clerk.

No marriage shall be contracted between persons who are nearer of kin than second cousins, except that marriage may be contracted between first cousins where the female has attained the age of 55 years or either party has documented proof of sterilization.

Blood Tests:

No blood test requirement.

Proxy Marriages:

Not performed in Wisconsin.

Common Law Marriages:

Not recognized in Wisconsin.

Same Sex Marriages: Yes, effective October 6, 2014.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

The marriage license fee is $105 (cash only) payable at the time of filing an application.

Marriage License Application Requirements:

Any document not in English must have attached to it a certified or notarized translation. Both of the applicants must speak and be able to read English. If not, the applicant(s) must provide a translator. The bride or groom may not translate for each other.

Failure to meet the requirements as listed above will delay the issuance of your license.

For clarification of any information provided, please call (414) 278-4067.

Officiants:

Ordained member of the clergy, a judge, a court commissioner, or certain religious appointees. You and your prospective spouse may officiate under established customs or rules of some religions.

Valid:

License is valid for 30 days.
The license can only be used within the State of Wisconsin.

Instrucciones para Obtener una Licencia de Matrimonio:

Para escuchar una grabación sobre como obtener una licencia de matrimonio, llame al 414-278-4070.

Dónde Solicitar:

Se puede solicitar una licencia de matrimonio en la oficina del Milwaukee County Clerk (Secretario del Condado de Milwaukee), Sala 105, Juzgado (Courthouse), North 9th Street, Milwaukee. Se puede solicitar certificados de matrimonio de lunes a viernes de las 8:00 hasta las 16:00.

Los residentes de Wisconsin han de solicitar al County Clerk (Secretario del Condado) en el condado en que o la novia o el novio es residente. El certificado que se entrega en aquel condado es vigente en cualquier región del Estado de Wisconsin. En el caso de que ni la novia ni el novio sean residentes, se tiene que solicitar el certificado en el condado en que se van a casar. El certificado emitido sólo será vigente en el condado en que fue emitido.

Cuándo Solicitar:

Se tiene que escoger una fecha de matrimonio antes de solicitar. La novia y el novio tienen que entregar la solicitud juntos al menos siete (7) días pero no más de treinta (30) días antes de la fecha de matrimonio. El certificado es válido por un periodo de treinta (30) días desde el día de expedición.

Quién Puede Casarse:

Sólo las personas que hayan cumplido dieciocho (18) años pueden casarse. Los solicitantes de 16 o 17 años tienen que contar con el consentimiento de ambos padres o de su(s) tutor(es) legal(es). Se tiene que completar, firmar y hacer certificar por notario un formulario de consentimiento.

Dos personas que sean más prójimos que sobrinos segundos no pueden casarse, excepto en el caso de que sean primos hermanos y la novia haya cumplido 55 años o al menos uno de las partes presente pruebas documentales de que él o ella es permanentemente estéril.

Honorarios:

Se cobran $105 (sólo en efectivo) por una licencia de matrimonio, lo que se puede pagar en el momento de entregar la solicitud.

Requisitos de Licencia de Matrimonio:

Cualquier documento que no sea en inglés tiene que ir acompañada por una traducción certificada o autentificada. Ambos la novia y el novio tienen que saber hablar y leer en inglés. Al caso contrario, los solicitantes han de proveer un(a) traductor(a)/intérprete.

La emisión de su licencia se retrasará si no se cumplan estos requisitos.

Si Usted tiene cualquier duda sobre esta información, llame al (414) 278-4067.


Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Vital Records
1 West Wilson Street
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: (608) 266-1371

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.  Please include the state and county information.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state Wisconsin.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014