Search at Public records Pro Now
WI Wedding Officiants
Wisconsin
Wedding Officiants




Marriage Laws U.S. Wisconsin Grant County Clerk

Marriage license Laws in Grant County, Wisconsin. Here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the Wisconsin marriage laws before filling out the Wisconsin marriage license application.

Grant County Marriage License Office

Grant County Clerk
111 S. Jefferson Street
Lancaster, WI 53813
(608) 723-2675
8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays.

Local Wisconsin wedding officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Wisconsin officiants. You choose the best WI wedding officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage License Grant County, WI

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document in Wisconsin that allows you to officially tie the knot under the law. The rules for acquiring your marriage license vary from state to state, so you should check with your County Clerkís Office to ask about your local policies and procedures.

Wisconsin State Law requires a couple to apply no more than 30 days prior to the wedding date but no later than 6 days prior to the wedding. The 6 day waiting period can be waived upon consent of the County Clerk for an additional amount not to exceed $25.00. Wisconsin State Statutes require a certified birth certificate, and other official documents. In Wisconsin, the marriage license is valid for 30 days from the issuance of the marriage license. The marriage can only take place within this 30-day period.

When you apply for your license, youíll not only need proof of identification and age, but youíll need to apply for the certificate of marriage together.

You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman to perform the ceremony and sign the marriage license. Prior to your ceremony, youíll give your officiant your marriage license. After the ceremony, your officiant will sign the license and send it to the Register of Deeds of the county in which the marriage took place.

ID Requirement: You must bring your Social Security Card, show proof of residence (WI Driverís License or WI State ID), show a certified copy of your birth certificate. You must know your parents full names, including motherís maiden name and the correct spelling of their names. Make sure you have the date and place of your marriage ceremony and the name, address and phone number of the officiant.

Residency Requirement: At least one of the marrying couple must reside in the county where the application is made for at least 30 days. If both reside out-of-state, the application is made in the county where the ceremony will take place.

If Previously Married: You must show proof of a divorce, death or annulment from your most recent marriage. A copy of the judgment of divorce (signed by a judge), legal annulment (signed by a judge) or death certificate is required. In Wisconsin, you need to wait six months after a divorce before remarrying no matter what state the divorce took place in.

Application Requirement: Both the bride and groom must appear in person at the time of applying.

Waiting Period: There is a 6-day waiting period from the date the application is signed until the license becomes effective. A waiver of the 6-day waiting period may be obtained at the discretion of the County Clerk. The cost of the waiver ranges from $10 to $25.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

The fee for the marriage license in Grant County is $60.00. The waiting period may be waived for a good cause by the County Clerk for an additional $20.00.

Blood Tests: No blood test requirement.

Under 18: If either the bride or groom is 16 or 17 years old, parental permission is required. Parents or guardians are required to sign in the presence of a notary public before a marriage application is processed.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Proxy Marriages: Not performed in Wisconsin.

Cousin Marriages: Blood relatives who are first cousins must have proof of sterilization unless the female is 55 years of age or older.

Common Law Marriages: Not recognized in Wisconsin.

Same Sex Marriages: Not performed in Wisconsin. However, same-sex couples can apply for a declaration of domestic partnership.

Officiants: Ordained member of the clergy, a judge, a court commissioner, or certain religious appointees. You and your prospective spouse may officiate under established customs or rules of some religions.

Valid: License is valid for 30 days.
The license can only be used within the State of Wisconsin.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Vital Records
1 West Wilson Street
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: (608) 266-1371

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.  Please include the state and county information.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state Wisconsin.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014