Affordable Wedding Officiants






Marriage Laws U.S. Utah SLC UT Wedding Officiants

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

Utah law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a license application fee.

In Salt Lake City the marriage license fee is $50 by cash, check, money order, MasterCard or Visa.

The license fee is non-refundable and includes two certified copies.

Find a local Utah wedding officiant for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Utah officiants. You choose the best UT wedding officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage License in Salt Lake City

Marriage Requirements:

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Salt Lake County Clerk’s Office, Marriage Division.

How to Apply:

Marriage license applications must be printed on white 8 1/2 X 11 paper.  

The license fee is non-refundable and includes two certified copies.

Where to Apply for a Marriage License:

Salt Lake County Clerk, Marriage License Division
2001 South State Street #S2200
PO Box 144575
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4575
(385) 468-7300
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed on state and federal holidays.

When to Apply:

Marriage licenses may be used immediately upon purchase, but must be used within 30 days from the date of purchase at which time the license expires. Refunds and extensions cannot be granted.

 

Minors:

Individuals requesting a marriage license who are 16 or 17 years of age must provide a certified birth certificate and have parental or legal guardian consent to be married.

The parent or legal guardian must give sworn consent in-person at the time of application and must have proper identification.

Individuals requesting a marriage license who are 15 years of age must provide a certified birth certificate and have parental consent to be married. They must obtain written authorization from a judge of the court exercising juvenile jurisdiction in the county where either party to the marriage resides or a court commissioner as permitted by rule of the Judicial Council.

NOTE: The judge or court commissioner shall require that both parties to the marriage complete premarital counseling. This requirement may be waived if premarital counseling is not reasonably available.

 

Common Law Marriage:

Yes. A common law marriage is a situation where a man and woman have never had a formal wedding ceremony but may be declared husband and wife. Filing for common law marriage will allow the court to assist in matters such as custody or the division of property. Utah does recognize the validity of common law marriages. In order for a common law marriage to be filed, the following qualifications must be met:

•  Both parties must be competent and able to give consent.


First Cousins:

First cousins may marry if they are 65 years of age or older. If they are between 55 and 64 years of age, the district court in the county where they reside must find that either person is incapable of reproduction in order for them to be married.


Proxy Marriages:

No. Both parties must be present.

Same Sex Marriage:

Yes, effective Oct.ober 6, 2014.

Officiants:

Ministers of the gospel or priests of any denomination who are in regular communion with any religious society may perform marriages. Ministers must provide a certificate of marriage to the county clerk who issued the marriage license within 30 days after the marriage.

Miscellaneous:

A minister, rabbi, priest, mayor, judge, county clerk, Native American spiritual adviser, the Governor, court commissioners and judges, as well as particular members of the legislature. If you wish to be married by a county clerk, call your local county clerk office to set up an appointment. You must additionally bring two witnesses over the age of 18 and pay an additional fee for the ceremony.

Valid:

License is valid for 30 days.
The license can only be used within the State of Utah.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Copies of Utah birth certificates, Utah death certificates and public Utah marriage records (for marriage licenses that were issued in Utah). You may order copies of Utah vital records through USAVital on an expedited basis.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.  Please include the state and county information.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Utah.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014