Affordable Wedding Officiants






Marriage Laws Texas, TX, Marriage License, Laws, Licenses U.S. Texas Houston TX Wedding Officiants

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

Texas law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a license application fee.

The marriage license application fee in Houston is $71.00. The clerk's office does not accept credit cards or checks. It is important to remember to bring $71 in cash.

Locations for Obtaining a Marriage License:

Main Office
201 Caroline, 3rd Floor of Administration Building
Houston, TX
(713) 755-6411
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Baytown
701 W. Baker Road
Baytown, TX
((281) 422-0253
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Chimney Rock
6000 Chimney Rock
Houston, TX
(713) 660-7902
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Clay Road
16715 Clay Road
Houston, TX
(281) 859-0685
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Clear Lake
16603 Buccaneer
Clear Lake, TX
(281) 486-7250
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Cypresswood
6831 Cypresswood Dr.
Spring, TX
(281) 379-1057
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Humble
7900 Will Clayton Parkway
Humble, TX
(281) 540-1173
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

North Shepherd
7300 North Shepherd
Houston, TX
(713) 697-5193
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Pasadena
101 S. Richey, Suite D
Pasadena, TX
(713) 274-6230
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

South Belt
10851 Scarsdale
Houston, TX
(281) 464-0115
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M - F

Closed state and federal holidays.


Don't wait until the last minute to locate an officiant for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to Texas local officiants. You choose the best wedding officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage License in Houston, TX

How old do I have to be to obtain a marriage license?

You must be 18 years of age in order to obtain a marriage license without parental consent. You must be between 16 and 18 to obtain a license with parental consent.

Do I need to be a resident of Texas in order to purchase a marriage license?

Neither one of you have to be a resident of Texas.

Where do I go to get a marriage license in Houston?

Visit your local county's clerk's office. The majority of Houstonians reside in Harris County. A listing of Harris County branches are listed at the top of the page.

What documents am I required to provide in order to obtain a marriage license?

Both the bride and groom (who must both be present) must present valid personal identification. This can be in the form of a drivers license, DPS-issued ID card, valid passport, resident alien card, certified copy of or an original birth certificate. Social security numbers should be either present or memorized.

How soon after purchasing a marriage license can the marriage ceremony be held?

There is a wait period of 72 hours before using a marriage license.

How many days do we have to use the license ?

A marriage ceremony must be conducted within 30 days of receiving the marriage license.

Can two people of the same sex obtain a marriage license?

No, same sex marriage is not legal in the state of Texas.

Who is capable of marrying us?

Licensed ministers, priests, Jewish rabbis, justices of the supreme court, justices of the peace and magistrates of the state of Texas are all eligible for performing marriages.

Is this Marriage License only good in Harris County?

The Marriage License is good in every county in the state of Texas.

What kind of ID. do we need to get a license?

You must have a valid id such as a drivers license, Id card issued by DPS, valid passport, resident alien card, or other government issued identification.

Will we need to bring witnesses?

You do not need to bring witnesses to obtain the Marriage license.

If my boyfriend /girlfriend is in jail, can we still get married?

Yes, but you need to obtain an absent application form from one of our locations or here, take it to that person, have them fill it out and have it notarized. The instructions for this form are listed on the back of it. The form and the instructions can also be printed here.

If my boyfriend/girlfriend is in the military, do we still have to wait 72 hours?

The 72 hour waiting period is automatically waived for military personnel. However you will need to show your military ID.

Do we need to have a blood test performed?

No blood test is required in the State of Texas anymore.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.


Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Bureau of Vital Statistics
Texas Department of Health
P.O. Box 12040
Austin, TX 78711-2040
Phone - (512) 458-7111


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Check with Harris County Clerk for changes and clarifications in the requirements before you leave home to apply for your marriage license.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Find local Texas wedding officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to Texas local wedding officiants. You choose the best officiant.

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on JustAnswer.com.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Texas.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014