Affordable Wedding Officiants


Marriage Laws U.S. TN Memphis Fees TN Wedding Officiants

Affordable Tennessee wedding officiants specializing in all types of weddings and ceremonies. Submit single form to multiple Tennessee wedding officiants. You choose the best TN Wedding Officiant that match your budget.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

Tennessee law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a license application fee.

The fee for a marriage license application in Memphis is $97.50. This cost is reduced to $37.50 for all persons who have attended four hours of premarital preparation by a qualified instructor. A Certification of Completion Form must be submitted to verify the completion of an approved premarital preparation course.

Make plans for payment. Withdraw cash, bring your checkbook, purchase a money order, or bring your credit card to pay the marriage license application fee.


Local Tennessee Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Tennessee officiants. You choose the best TN Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Marriage License in Memphis, TN

The Application Process:

To obtain a marriage license in Memphis, both parties must appear for the issuance of the license. Proof of your Social Security number is required for both parties. The age requirements for marriage in the State of Tennessee are as follows. For persons:


Effective July 1, 1985, a blood test is no longer required. The marriage license is good for 30 days and costs $97.50. This cost is reduced to $37.50 for all persons who have attended four hours of premarital preparation by a qualified instructor. A Certification of Completion Form must be submitted to verify the completion of an approved premarital preparation course. 

After the ceremony has been performed, the signed vital record application must be sent back to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. The marriage license is then given to the bride and groom. If the license is not used within 30 days, it is voided and you must purchase a new license.

Be sure to verify fees, hours of operation, and other information before you go to the county clerk's office, as this information is subject to change.

Where to Obtain Marriage Licenses:
A Shelby County marriage license application may be obtained at any of the following locations:


Valid: License is valid for 30 days.
The license can only be used within the State of Tennessee.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Copies of Shelby County birth certificates, Shelby County death certificates and public Shelby County marriage records (for marriage licenses that were issued in Shelby County). You may order copies of Shelby County vital records through Archives on an expedited basis.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.  Please include the state and county information.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Tennessee.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014