Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a marriage license application in Butler County. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your marriage ceremony date.
It is important that you verify all information with the Butler County Register of Wills and Clerk of Orphans' Court office before making any wedding or travel plans.
Butler County Courthouse Register & Clerk of Orphans' Court Government Center, Level L 124 West Diamond St. Butler, PA 16001 724.285.4731 724-284-5379 marriage info. line 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. / M - F $60 cash only.
Closed for holidays.
You will need to present valid identification (Any 1 Of The 4)
Photo driver’s license
State PennDot photo ID card
Certified birth certificate
Active military ID
Social Security CARDS
Certified Divorce Decrees (if applicable)
Certified Name Change (if applicable)
Original Death Certificate (if applicable)
Custodial Parent(s) (with ID and proof of custody, if applicable)
Where to Apply:
Applicants may apply in any county within Pennsylvania.
Application does not need to be made in county of residence or where ceremony is to be performed.
All applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without custodial parent's or legal guardian's consent.
Applicants may apply ONLY between 8:30 AM and 4 PM, Monday through Friday, except holidays.
Applicants do not have to be a resident of Pennsylvania.
No Applications will be accepted after 4 PM.
Please plan for waiting & processing time.
Applicants who have previously married MUST HAVE:
ORIGINAL death certificate (if widowed)
ORIGINAL Divorce Decree dated more than 30 days prior to application date.
*If female applicant is divorced and has changed her name, she must have certified documentation of same.
If applicant does not have the original Divorce Decree, s/he must obtain a CERTIFIED copy of the Decree (with a court seal) from the Court that issued the original. Photocopies are NOT acceptable.
Foreign divorce Decrees must ALSO have a CERTIFIED ENGLISH translation attached.
Civil annulments require same documentation as divorces. (Church annulments are NOT accepted)
There's a three (3) day waiting period in Pennsylvania.
You can request a waiver of the waiting period. Send a letter as early as possible addressed to the County Register, requesting a Waiver and your reason why. Your letter should contain both names, a telephone number, proof of your wedding date (a wedding invitation will work), and a return address so a letter of confirmation to be sent to you. There is an additional fee for this service.
Military 3 day Waiver:
In an emergency or where extraordinary circumstances exist, a Judge of the Orphans' Court Division, upon petition on a form supplied by the Clerk, may grant a waiver of the three-day waiting period.
A military applicant on active duty upon short leave may obtain a waiver of the three-day waiting period upon petition made in person through the Orphans' Court Clerk to a Judge of the Orphans' Court Division.
A copy of military orders may be required at the time of application. There is no fee for an active military waiver.
How Much a Marriage License Cost?
The marriage license fee is $60 cash only.
Parental Consents are extra. ($20.00 each).
Butler County does not accept checks.
Marriage License fees must be paid in bills no larger than $20.
No. However, your common-law marriage will be recognized in Pennsylvania if it was created before January 1, 2005.
Same Sex Marriages:
Yes. Same-sex marriage in Pennsylvania became legal on May 20, 2014, when a U.S. federal district court judge ruled that the states' 1996 statutory ban on recognising same-sex marriage was unconstitutional.
Applicants between 16-18 years of age MUST HAVE A CUSTODIAL PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN present to consent to the marriage application.
Applicants under 16 years of age must have BOTH written Court approval AND meet the custodial parent requirements.
Consenting parent must have proper identification and proof of physical custody of the minor.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Any ordained minister, priest or rabbi of any regularly established church or congregation, Judges, and Justices of Peace may perform wedding ceremonies. Mayors of cities and boroughs are also authorized to perform marriage ceremonies. See Pennsylvania Statutes, Title 23, Chapter 15 for more information.
Self-Uniting Marriage License:
Yes. If you want this type of license, you need to inform the clerk before you begin the application process.
A Pennsylvania marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days. What this means is you two have 60 days to get married and have your marriage license officially recorded. If you wait past that time frame, you can't get married without applying for and paying for another marriage license.
124 West Diamond Street
Butler, PA 16001
Phone: (724) 284-5379
In Pennsylvania copies of marriage records were required to be filed starting in 1885. Copies of these marriages may be obtained from the courthouse in the county where the marriage license was issued. There are three types of marriage records available. The first is a plain copy of the marriage record which is typically for family genealogy records or personal use. The second (one-seal) and third type (triple-seal) are for official purposes and used by the persons named in the records. Order Copies of Records Online