Search at Public records Pro Now
OH Wedding Officiants
Ohio
Wedding Officiants




Marriage Laws U.S. Ohio Columbus Fees OH Officiants

What's the Cost of a Marriage License?

Ohio law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a license application fee.

The marriage license application fee in Columbus, OH is $50.00. Cash only.


Franklin County Probate Court
Marriage License Department
1 Lakeside Avenue
373 S. High St., 23rd Floor
Columbus, Ohio
(614) 525-3108
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. / M - F

Marriage License in Columbus, OH


Find local Ohio Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Ohio officiants. You choose the best OH Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Who may apply?

Per the Constitution of Ohio amended November 4, 2004 Article 15 section 11; Only a union between one man and one woman may be a marriage valid in or recognized by this state and its political subdivisions.

Both must be at least 16 years old, not nearer of kin than second cousins, and not having a husband or wife living.

An applicant younger than 18 must first get the consent of his or her parents or guardian and also have proof that he or she has received marriage counseling.

The license may be obtained in this county if either applicant is a resident of Franklin County, The license may be used anywhere in the State of Ohio. This Court also will issue the license if neither applicant is a resident of the State of Ohio, as long as the marriage ceremony takes place in Franklin County.

How do we Apply?

The license application may be initiated online or in person at the Court. Both applicants must appear in person to finish the application process. Each applicant must provide valid photo identification and know their social security number. All social security numbers are held in confidence and do not become a part of the Court's public records.

What if we need an interpreter?

If either applicant does not speak English well enough to complete the application process, they have two choices of how to proceed.

  1. They can bring in a family member or friend who is not the other applicant to interpret for them.
  2. If they do not have a family member or friend who can interpret for them, the deputy clerks at the marriage license department can schedule an interpreter to assist them. The applicants must pay a $38.00 fee, in cash, for the interpreter. This is the minimum cost for an interpreter. This $38.00 fee is in addition to the marriage license costs and must be paid each time an interpreter appears at Court, even if it is the same case.

Applicant must call the Court (614-525-3108) at least 48 hours in advance so that the Court can schedule an interpreter.

Must we show proof of divorces or the death of a previous spouse?

If divorced, the applicant(s) must provide a certified copy of the most recent divorce decree and case numbers / dates / locations (county / state / country) of all previous marriages, names of previous spouses and all current minor children.

Applicants are not required to produce copies of death certificates for deceased spouses.

Is there a waiting period?

No, after the application is accepted there is no waiting period to receive the license. The license is valid for 60 days from its date of issuance.

What if we discover there's an error on our marriage license or application?

The cost of correcting a minor error on a marriage application is $5.00. The cost for amending an application to include additional information about past marriages is $35.00 and will require both parties to appear at a hearing before a magistrate for approval. If you believe there is an error on your marriage application, you can visit the Court's marriage department and apply to have it corrected.

Who may solemnize a marriage?

Only an ordained or licensed officiant who is registered with the Secretary of the State of Ohio, a judge, a mayor, or the Superintendent of the State School for the Deaf may solemnize a marriage.

To find out if your minister is registered with the Secretary of State, call (877)-767-6446 or visit Secretary of State's Minister License Database.


Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Bureau of Vital Statistics
Ohio Department of Health
35 East Chestnut Street, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 15098
Columbus, OH 43215-0098
Phone: (614) 466-2531

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.  Please include the state and county information.

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on JustAnswer.com.

NY Marriage License, New York Marriage License, Laws, Licenses

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Ohio.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014