Marriage license requirements in Northwood, New Hampshire. Here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the New Hampshire marriage laws before applying for a Northwood marriage license application. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony wedding date.
Town of Northwood Marriage License Office
Northwood Town Clerk
818 First New Hampshire Turnpike
Northwood, NH 03261
(603) 942-5586 x 201
8:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. & 4:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. / M; 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. / Tu - F; 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. / Sa (4th week of the Month).
Closed on holidays.
While these guidelines are based on New Hampshire state laws, some rules may vary from county to county. A call to the appropriate City or Town Clerk is advisable. State and county marriage license requirements often change.
Marriage is the legally recognized union of two people. Any person who otherwise meets the eligibility requirements under State Statute (Chapter 457) may marry any other eligible person regardless of gender.
Both individuals must appear at the Northwood Town Clerk Office together. Exceptions may be made for individuals enlisted in the United States military.
How Much a Marriage License Cost?
The marriage license fee in Northwood is $45. Be prepared to pay cash.
You must deliver the license to the officiant before the marriage can be performed. After the marriage occurs, the officiant completes the license and returns it to the City or Town Clerk, after which the couple may obtain a copy of the marriage certificate for a $15.00 fee, additional copies ordered at the same time for the same record are $10.00 each.
Valid Picture Identification:
Acceptable forms of identification include:
Valid driver's license or identification card from Department of Motor Vehicles
Valid military card
Original or certified birth certificate (Foreign birth certificates must be translated into English and notarized.)
Social Security Number:
Applicants should be prepared to furnish their social security number.
Applicants do not have to be a resident of the Granite State. However, if both the bride and groom are not residents of the town or city they plan to be married in, their intentions must be filed with the appropriate clerk in the same town or city the marriage is to take place. If one of the applicants is a resident of New Hampshire, the intentions must be filed in the same town or city he or she resides in. If both applicants reside in New Hampshire, but in different towns or cities, intentions can be filed in either location.
Applicants 18 and over can marry without parental consent. Non-residents under the age of 18 may not marry in New Hampshire. No female below the age of 13 or male below the age of 14 may be married in New Hampshire under any conditions. Female applicants between the ages of 13 and 17 and male applicants between the ages of 14 and 17 can only be married with a waiver and permission from their parent or legal guardian.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Marriage is not permitted in New Hampshire between people who are related by blood as first cousins or in any more direct lineage.
There is no waiting period in the State of New Hampshire.
Marriage License Validity Period:
It is always a good idea not to literally wait until the last minute, as a marriage license is not valid until three days after it is issued. On the other hand, do not apply too far in advance as marriage licenses do have an expiration date. A marriage license is only good for three months or 90 days after the issue date.
"Solemnize" is to celebrate or observe with formal ceremonies or rites. For a marriage to be legal, it must be performed by one of the solemnization officials listed below:
A justice of the peace commissioned in the State of New Hampshire.
Any minister of the gospel in New Hampshire ordained according to the usage of his or her denomination, living in the Granite State, and in regular standing with the denomination.
Any member of the clergy who is not ordained but is engaged in the service of the religious body to which he or she belongs, resides in New Hampshire, after being licensed by the Secretary of State.
The secretary of state
may issue a license to an unordained clergy who is a
resident of New Hampshire and who is a member of and engaged in the service of a religious
body which is chartered by the state if he or she presents a certification from that body that he
or she is in its service, together with an application and the statutory fee of $5.00. The
license issued by the secretary of state shall authorize the clergyman to solemnize
marriages in New Hampshire as long as he retains a good standing in his religious body.
By any Minister who resides outside of New Hampshire, but has a pastoral charge wholly or partly in New Hampshire, if the marriage is performed within his parish, after being licensed by the Secretary of State.
The secretary of state may issue a
special license to an ordained minister or
unordained minister who resides
outside of New Hampshire to perform a single marriage in New Hampshire. An
application, available through the secretary of state's office, (or the above
link) is required, along with
the statutory fee of $25.00. A special license will be issued to perform one marriage
only. This special license is required to be filed with the regular marriage
license which the couple obtained from the town or city clerk.
An individual who resides outside of New Hampshire, who is authorized or licensed by law in their state of residence to perform marriages.
The secretary of state may issue a special
license to an individual residing out of state who is authorized or licensed by
law to perform marriages in such individual's state of residence, authorizing
him or her in a special case to marry a couple within the state. The
secretary of state may require the submission of a copy of a valid commission or
other indicia of authority to marry in the individual's state of residence as
proof of existence of that authority. The names and residences of the couple
proposed to be married in such special case shall be stated in the license, and
no power shall be conferred to marry any other parties than those named therein.
The fee for such license shall be $25.00.
Judges of the United States appointed pursuant to Article III of the United States Constitution, or by United States magistrate judges appointed pursuant to federal law.
Bankruptcy judges appointed pursuant to Article I of the United States Constitution.
The secretary of state may issue a
special license to a judge of the United States residing in New Hampshire who is appointed
pursuant to Article III of the United States Constitution, to a judge of the United States
Bankruptcy Court residing in this state and appointed pursuant to Article I of the United
States Constitution, or to a United States magistrate judge residing in this state and
appointed pursuant to federal law, to marry a couple within the state. There shall
be a $25.00 fee for each license. A copy of the marriage license of the couple proposed to
be married shall be filed with the secretary of state who shall maintain a permanent
record of all such marriage licenses and the name and residence of the judge or magistrate
performing the ceremony.
Jewish rabbis who are citizens of the United States and reside in New Hampshire.
No one can marry himself or herself, even if he or she meets the solemnization requirements stated above.
For more information you may contact the Secretary of State's Office at (603) 271-3242.
Divorced or Widowed:
A certified copy of a death certificate of a former spouse, if applicant is widowed; a certified copy of a final divorce decree, if the applicant is divorced; a certified copy of an annulment decree, if the applicant's previous marriage was annulled.
Same Sex Marriages:
Yes, effective January 1, 2010.
Any person shall be guilty of a Class B Felony if he/she willfully and knowingly makes any false statements on an application for a certified copy of a vital record (NH RSA 126.24).
Bureau of Vital Records
6 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-4651
The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your City or Town Clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please include the state and county information.