Affordable Wedding Officiants




Marriage Laws » United States Nevada NV Wedding Officiants

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

Nevada law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a license application fee.

The fee for a marriage license in Las Vegas is $60, payable by cash, cashier’s check, money order, or credit card. Applicants may use American Express, Discover, MasterCard, or Visa.

There is an additional $5.00 service charge for credit card transactions. Debit cards are not accepted unless the card is a debit/credit card.

Marriage License in Las Vegas, NV

Per Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 122.200, “Any person who shall make a false statement in procuring a marriage license with reference to any matter required by NRS 122.040 and 122.050 to be stated under oath shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor.”

Requirements for U.S. citizens and non U.S. citizens are the same.

Save Time Pre-Apply Online:

Complete the on-line marriage pre-application before going in to get your marriage license.

Couples using the online Pre-Application, should bring their Reference Number and required identification/documentation to an express window at the main Marriage Bureau in Las Vegas, or to a Marriage Services Clerk at one of our outlying locations in order to obtain your marriage license.

Your Pre-Application will be kept in the system for sixty (60) days.


Divorced Applicants/Widowed Applicants:

Divorced applicants are required to list the Month/Day/Year when their divorce was finalized and the city and state where the divorce was finalized. We do not need to see a copy of the divorce decree. Widowed applicants are required to list the Month/Day/Year they were widowed and the city and state. We do not need to see a copy of the death certificate.

Minor Applicants, ages 16 or 17 (not yet age 18):

Minor applicants must have consent of a parent or legal guardian.

Minor Applicants, less than 16 years of age:

Minor applicants under the age of 16 may marry only with a Nevada Court Order authorizing the Clerk to issue the marriage license. Identification rules still apply. Please contact an attorney or you may contact the Clark County Family Law Self-Help Center at 702-455-1500 or by visiting their website.

Marriage Ceremonies:

Please Note: The person performing the marriage ceremony MUST possess a Certificate of Authority to Perform Marriages issued by a County Clerk from the State of Nevada. Most churches and commercial wedding chapels use only authorized ministers but we suggest you confirm that the minister is properly authorized. Couples may check the state-wide data base of authorized ministers here. If you do not find your minister's name, please call the Marriage License Bureau office at 702-671-0580.

An out-of-state minister may obtain permission to perform one ceremony in the State of Nevada. Please see "Minister Licensing" for information on how to apply for a Temporary Certificate of Permission to Perform Marriages. There is no application fee.

Your marriage ceremony may be performed at any wedding chapel, church, Office of Civil Marriages, or anywhere a licensed minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage is willing to perform a ceremony within the State of Nevada. The expiration date of the marriage license is listed in the upper left-hand corner. Nevada marriages are legal and recognized all over the world.

WARNING: An individual going by the name of "Dr. Linda Harvey-Smith" is not authorized to perform marriages in the State of Nevada. She has performed a number of weddings in recent months and has failed to properly record the marriage certificates. This creates serious problems for the couples involved.

Important Information for Couples:

Information regarding what to do once you get your marriage license and how to order copies of your marriage records after you are married can be found here.

Rejoinders in marriage:

Per recent legislation, a husband and wife, whose record of marriage has been lost or destroyed or is otherwise unobtainable, may be issued a marriage license and rejoined in marriage. This is reviewed on a case-by-case basis and is not eligible for the Online Marriage License Pre-Application process.

Renewal of Vows:

This office is prohibited from issuing a new Marriage License to couples who are currently married. Couples may renew their wedding vows at a church or a wedding chapel. You will need to contact those establishments to see what information is required.

Transportation:

The Marriage License Bureau is located in downtown Las Vegas approximately 3 blocks south of the Fremont Street Experience. The links below will give you an approximation of traveling via the Duece (bus) or taxi.

Clark County Marriage Bureau locations.

  1. Marriage License Bureau
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    201 East Clark Avenue
    Monday through Sunday
    8 A.M. to Midnight
    Including holidays
    702.671.0600
  2. Commission Division Office
    Las Vegas, Nevada

    500 South Grand Central Parkway
    Monday through Friday
    8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    Closed all legal holidays
    702.455.4336

  3. Commissioner of Civil Marriages
    Las Vegas, Nevada

    309 S. 3rd St., 1st floor
    Monday through Sunday
    8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
    Including holidays

  4. Regional Justice Center
    Las Vegas, Nevada

    200 Lewis Ave.
    5th Floor
    Monday through Friday
    8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    Closed all legal holidays
    702.455.4011

  5. Laughlin, Nevada
    101 Civic Way
    Laughlin, Nevada
    Thursday, Friday, Saturday - 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    Closed for lunch from noon to 12:30 p.m.
    Closed all legal holidays
    702.298.1097

  6. Mesquite, Nevada
    500 Hillside Drive
    Mesquite, NV
    Wednesday - 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. (Wed. Only - Closed for lunch from 11:30 a.m. to 12:00 noon)
    Friday - 3:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
    Saturday - 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
    Closed all legal holidays
    702.346.1867

  7. Henderson, Nevada
    240 S. Water Street
    Henderson, NV 89015
    Thursday - 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
    Closed for lunch from 12:00 noon to 12:30 p.m.
    Closed all legal holidays
    702.455.1055

  8. ID Requirement:

    Valid picture identification. Acceptable identification includes valid Driver's License, valid Identification Card from DMV, valid Passport, Resident Alien card, Military ID, or Certified or original Birth Certificate.

    If a foreign birth certificate, it must be translated into English and notarized. You need to know your social security number, too!

    Residency Requirement:

    You do not have to be a resident of Nevada.

    Previous Marriages:

    If you were previously married, your divorce must be final. You need to know the date (month, year) of your divorce and the location (city and state) where you were divorced.

    Covenant Marriage Option:

    No.

    Waiting Period in Nevada:

    There is no waiting period to get married in Nevada.

    How Much a Marriage License Cost?

    Nevada:You will have to pay $35.00 - $65.00 (depends on County) to get married in Nevada - cash only. Some counties may accept a local check. Clark County (Las Vegas) charges $60 and accepts cash only.

    Other Tests:

    No blood tests.

    Proxy Marriages:

    No. Both parties must be present.

    Common Law Marriages:

    No.

    Same Sex Marriages:

    No.

    Renewing Your Vows:

    No. The county clerk's office is prohibited from issuing a new Marriage License to couples currently married.

    You may renew your wedding vows at a church or wedding chapel, but they may require you to bring a copy of your Marriage Certificate for proof of marriage before performing the renewal ceremony.

    Cousin Marriages:

    Not nearer of kin than second cousins or cousins of half blood.

    Las Vegas Weddings:

    If you are considering having a late-night Las Vegas wedding, please note that the counter at the Las Vegas Marriage Bureau is open from 8:00 a.m. to midnight, every day including weekends and holidays.

    Under 18:

    If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must have one parent or legal guardian present. A notarized written permission is also acceptable. It must be written in English and needs to state the name, birth date, age of the minor child, along with the relationship of the person giving consent. The notary must note that the parent or guardian personally appeared before or was subscribed and sworn to.

    If you are under 16, marriage can be authorized only by court order when the request has been filed by either parent or legal guardian.

    Name Change:

    Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

    Officiants:

    Any ordained or licensed clergymen who have obtained a certificate of permissions to perform marriages and justices of the peace can perform weddings in Nevada.

    Miscellaneous:

    Requirements for U.S. citizens and Non U.S. citizens are the same. The license is valid for 1 year from the date it is issued. It may be used anywhere within the State of Nevada.

    Online Marriage License Pre-Application Instructions:

    To access the instructions for completing the Online Marriage License Pre-Application form: Click Here.

    Online Marriage License Pre-Application Form:

    To access the Online Marriage License Pre-Application form. Locate the Marriage Application tab at the far right. Once you have completed the form, click submit. Bring your reference number and required identification to an express window at the main Marriage Bureau in Las Vegas, or to a Marriage Services clerk at one of our outlying locations in order to obtain your marriage license. Both the bride and groom MUST appear in order to obtain a marriage license: Click Here.

    Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
    Clark County Clerk
    Marriage Services Division
    P.O. Box 551603
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89155-1603

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Nevada.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014