Affordable Wedding Officiants




Marriage Laws U.S. FL Palm Beach FL Wedding Officiants

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

Florida law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a marriage license application fee.

The fee for a marriage license application in West Palm Beach is generally $93.50. Couples who have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months are entitled to a discount of $32.50. The provider of the class must be listed with the Clerks office.

The Florida Premarital Preparation, is a course provided by a qualified instructor registered with the Clerk of the Circuit Court consisting of not less than 4 hours. The course may include instruction regarding conflict management, communication skills, financial responsibilities, children and parenting responsibilities on actual case data compiled from information reported by married couples who seek counseling. The course may be provided by personal instruction, videotape instruction, instructions via other electronic medium or a combination of these methods. A roster is available in any Clerk's Office issuing marriage licenses.

Many locales do accept credit cards now, but be sure to check with any Clerk & Comptroller location to verify whether or not you need cash.


Local Florida Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Florida Officiants. You choose the best FL Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Marriage License in West Palm Beach

Couples wishing to get married in Florida may apply for a license at any Clerk & Comptroller location throughout Palm Beach County. Marriage licenses are issued through the Clerk's Circuit Civil department.

The license is valid in any Florida county for a period of 60 days. Once issued, Florida residents must wait three days to get married. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents (see Waiting Period & Discounted License for additional exceptions to this rule).

Marriage License Requirements:

Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license and each must present one of the following forms of identification:

If either person was married before, the manner in which the last marriage ended and the exact date the marriage ended are needed. Copies of the death certificate, final decree of divorce, annulment or blood test are not required. You do not have to be a resident of Florida to apply.

Both parties must read the Family Law Handbook (available below) prior to obtaining a marriage license.

Requirements for Minors 16 to 17 years old (one or both applicants)

All of the following are required:

Requirements for Minors Under 16 (one or both applicants)

A previously married minor may apply without the need for parental consent.

Waiting Period & Discounted License:

The mandatory three-day waiting period for Florida residents may be waived if the couple attends a premarital course from a registered provider and presents a certificate of completion when applying for a license. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents.

Additionally, both residents and non-residents of Florida may receive a $32.50 discount on their marriage license by completing a premarital course. Both parties must attend the course and, once again, a certificate of completion must be presented at the time of application to be eligible for the discount.

A directory of premarital course providers is available online (PDF) and at all court locations.

Forms:

Family Law Handbook - English

PDF

DownloaD in English

Download in Spanish



Marriage License Application

PDF

Download


Affirmation of Common Children Born in Florida

PDF
Pursuant to Florida Statute 741.01, this form is provided to allow both parties to the marriage to state under oath in writing if they are the parents of a child born in this state and to identify any such child they have in common by name, date of birth, place of birth, and if available, birth certificate number - one form per child.

Download


Locations

All Clerk & Comptroller offices are open Monday - Friday (except legal holidays) from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.


Main Courthouse
205 N. Dixie Hwy.
Room 3.2300
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Telephone: (561) 355-2986

North County Courthouse
3188 PGA Blvd.
Room 1202
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Telephone: (561) 624-6650



South County Courthouse
200 W. Atlantic Ave.
Delray Beach, FL 33444
Telephone: (561) 274-1588



West County Courthouse
38844 SR 80
Belle Glade, FL 33430
Telephone: (561) 996-4843


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Officiants:

All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel in communion with some church may perform marriages. Ministers must complete a certificate of marriage on the marriage license and return it to the office from which it was issued.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Department of Children and Families
Division of Vital Statistics
P. O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
904-359-6955

It is important that you verify all information with any Clerk & Comptroller location or Clerk's Circuit Civil department before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.  Please include the state and county information.

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on JustAnswer.com.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Florida.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants


© 2014