The marriage license fee in Denver is $30—cash and checks only. Credit cards are not accepted. Certified copies of marriage licenses are available upon request, $1.25.
Denver County Marriage License Office
Denver County Clerk
Wellington E. Webb Municipal Office Building
201 W. Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80202
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. & 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays.
Find a local Colorado wedding officiant for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to Colorado local officiants. You choose the best CO wedding officiant.http://www.justanswer.com/family-law/?r=aboykins&bt=0 Consent of Parents for Marriage Application
You must be 18 years of age or older to marry in Colorado, with the following exceptions:
You must present the necessary consent and court order, as applicable, at the time you apply for a marriage license. If you are under the age of 18 and one of your parents or your guardian has sole legal custody, you also must present proof of custody.
If you have been married previously and are widowed or divorced, you must provide:
If you are divorced you also must provide:
Please also be prepared to supply the place of birth (city and state) of each of your parents.
The following marriages are prohibited:
To apply for a marriage license, both you and your intended spouse must appear in person at the Marriage License counter at our offices on the First Floor of the Webb Municipal Office Building, 201 W. Colfax Ave.
Hours of operation are 8:00am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday. Closed municipal holidays.
You and your intended spouse each must present one of these valid forms of identification:
(Please note the name on the marriage license will appear exactly as it is on the ID you provide)
Additionally: If you have a social security number you are required to provide it. If the bride or groom doesn’t have a social security number (they are from another country or they are in the process of obtaining U.S. citizenship) they are not required to have one to get married.
Important: These forms of identification are not acceptable for marriage license applications:
If either you or your intended spouse cannot appear in person, the absent party must complete an absentee application which must be notarized. The party appearing in person (same days and hours as above) must present on the behalf of the absent intended spouse
The absentee applicant's legal name as stated in the notarized absentee application must match exactly the absentee applicant's name as shown by the ID photocopy.
The marriage license may be used immediately upon issuance and is valid only for 30 days after issuance. It may be used anywhere in Colorado.
Your marriage may be solemnized by a judge of a court, a retired judge, a court magistrate, a public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages, a Native-American tribe official, clergy, or you and your intended spouse. Clergy from out-of-state do not need to be registered in Colorado.
If you or your intended spouse is unable be present at the solemnization, the absent party may authorize a third person to act as proxy.
The solemnizing official, or you and your spouse in case of self-solemnization, will complete your marriage certificate, attesting that your marriage solemnization has been performed lawfully. (Note: The marriage license and marriage certificate are two distinct instruments that appear on the single form.)
Colorado statutes allows couples to self solemnize, or perform their own marriage (C.R.S. §14-2-109(1)). To do this, a couple need only indicate such on the marriage certificate form on the third line, indicating "themselves." The couple should both sign below where the clergy or judicial officer would otherwise sign, and then sign again as "bride" and "groom." The statutes do not allow a friend or relative to solemnize a marriage (sign the certificate as officiant). Witnesses are not required for a valid self solemnization.
You may choose to solemnize your marriage while in the building and return the certificate to the Clerk and Recorder immediately. In any event, you must return the marriage certificate for recording no later than 60 days from the date the license was issued.
Note: Couples choosing to self solemnize should be aware that only Colorado and one or two other states recognize a self-solemnized ceremony. This does not necessarily mean the marriage is not valid in other states; however, insurance companies or other entities may require a certified copy of the marriage certificate.
After solemnization you must return your marriage license and completed marriage certificate to us within 60 days for recording. Do not separate the certificate from the license. You may use the return envelope given to you at the time of application or return the certificate in person. Recording enters your marriage license and certificate upon our records for future reference (see Recordings Archives). The original form thereafter will be returned to you at the return address supplied at the time of application.
For further information regarding marriage requirements and applications, contact: Marriage Licenses, 720-865-8406.http://www.kqzyfj.com/click-3617284-10782327-1348522576000 It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants
All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants
Wedding Officiants Directory Local Officiants Lists! Ceremony Wedding Officiants