Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Alameda County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.
How Much a Marriage License Cost?
California law requires a couple to obtain a marriage license in order to have a legally binding wedding ceremony. Some states require a medical examination or blood tests in order to obtain a license. All require proof of identification and a marraige license application fee.
It will cost you $96 for a marriage license in Oakland and includes one certified copy of the completed marriage certificate. Requests for marriage licenses must be made before 4:00 p.m. at the Alameda County Clerk-Recorder's Office, 1106 Madison Street, Oakland, CA 94607.
There is no waiting period or blood tests in Oakland County.
Oakland County Clerk / Recorder's Office
1106 Madison Street
Oakland, CA 94607
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. / M - F
Note: Please arrive by 4:00 p.m.
Closed for holidays.
It is recommended that you call the Oakland County Clerk's Office to see if they suggest setting an appointment.
ID and Residency Requirements:
Oakland requires a picture id such as Drivers License or other valid identification. Some counties recommend bringing certified copies of your birth certificates.
You do not have to be a resident of Oakland to apply for a marriage license there.
Information you need to know before you start filling out the marriage license application:
Where each of your parents were born (city and state)
The names of your parents including your mother’s maiden name
Confidential License in Oakland:
If you have lived together as a married couple, you can apply for a confidential license. This means there is no public record of your marriage.
You must show proof of divorce, death or annulment. You need to bring a copy of your final divorce decree if you have divorced within the 90 days through past year (varies by county).
If either the bride or groom is under 18, at least one of the minor’s parents, or legal guardian, must appear with the couple. Certified copies of birth certificates are required. The couple must also schedule an appointment with a counselor and then appear before a California superior court judge.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.