United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status

 

     

Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  South Carolina  »  South Carolina State, SC


South Carolina State, SC

State of South Carolina
Marriage License Requirements

  • License Fee: Varies by county.

  • Minimum Age: (16).

    • Minor applicants must have parental consent and present a certified or original birth certificate.

    • The parents of minor(s) must provide Identification.

  • Waiting Period: There is a (24) twenty-four hour waiting period after the application is made before the license can be picked up and the parties can be married.

    • This waiting period varies from county to county, so please contact the appropriate county Probate Judge’s office at least a week before you plan to get married.

  • License Validity: There is no expiration date for a South Carolina marriage license.

  • Blood Test: Not Required.

  • Residency: Not Required.

  • Witnesses: South Carolina does not require a witness to the marriage.


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Application:

To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must:

  • Both parties must appear together and file a written application that must be signed by both contracting parties and notarized in the office of the Probate Judge in which the license is to be issued.

  • Applicants between eighteen and twenty-five years old must submit proof of identity and age.

  • Pay the necessary license fee.

  • Wait the 24 hours period after the application is made before the license can be picked up and the parties can be married.

    • This waiting period varies from county to county, so please contact the appropriate county Probate Judge’s office at least a week before you plan to get married.


ID Requirement:

  • Valid Driver’s License

  • Original Birth Certificate or a certified copy of the Birth Certificate

  • Valid State ID

  • Current Military ID

  • Valid Passport

  • Social Security Card


Waiting Period:

  • There is a twenty-four hour waiting period after the application is made before the license can be picked up and the parties can be married.

  • This waiting period varies from county to county, so please contact the appropriate county Probate Judge’s office at least a week before you plan to get married.


Residency Requirement:

There is no residency requirement in South Carolina.


Previous Marriages: ✔ Search Marriage | Divorce Records

No proof of divorce is required for marriage in South Carolina


Marriage License Fees:

  • The marriage license fees varies from South Carolina county to county, so call ahead to your county Probate Judge’s office to ensure you have the right fee and ask what form of payment is accepted. In some cases, you may need to bring cash.

  • If a couple has completed a qualifying premarital preparation course PRIOR to applying for the license and presents a certificate of completion at the time of application, they may be eligible to receive a $50 non-refundable state income tax credit pursuant to S.C. Code 20-1-230.



Proxy Marriages:

Proxy marriages are not allowed in South Carolina. Both parties must be present.


Cousin Marriages:

Yes.


Common Law Marriages:

Yes. In South Carolina, common law marriages are valid for individuals who are cohabiting as husband and wife.


Blood test:

In South Carolina, no blood test or physical is required.


Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Under 18:

  • With parental consent, males and females must be at least sixteen years old to be eligible for a license.

  • Any applicant under the age of eighteen years old must file an original birth certificate or a certified copy of the long form thereof, which becomes part of the permanent record of application.

  • The parent or legal guardian of the minor applicant must appear at the same time as the minor to present identification and sign a form consenting to the marriage.


Officiants in South Carolina:

Any ordained or licensed clergymen, justices of the peace, and recognized Native American spiritual leaders can perform weddings in South Carolina.


Witnesses:

No witnesses are required for marriage in South Carolina


License Validity Time:

  • There is no expiration date for a South Carolina marriage license.

  • The license can only be used within the State of South Carolina.


Copy of Certificate of Marriage

Office of Public Health Statistics and Information Systems
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Ph: 803.898.3630


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding South Carolina marriage license laws and records please visit www.sc.gov.