United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location



Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  New Mexico  »  NM, Marriage License Laws

NM, Marriage License Laws

New Mexico
Application Process

To marry in New Mexico, the two parties may not be related within the degree prohibited by the State of New Mexico (NMSA 40-1-7). Both parties must appear in person and bring valid picture identification to the County Clerk’s Office to apply for a marriage license in New Mexico.

  • Both must be 18 years of age. If under 18.

  • Both Parties must be present for the application.

  • If an applicant is unable to appear in person, authorization to issue the marriage license must be provided by a District Judge.

  • New Mexico marriage license fee is Twenty-five dollars $25, payable at the time of application.

  • No blood test or exam is required.

  • Marriage licenses are issued and valid immediately.

Be sure to contact your local County Clerk’s office well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the clerk will be in the office.

Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


The following information is required on the marriage application:

  • Both applicants must be present at the time of the marriage license application process.

  • Picture ID and Proof of age is required.

  • A Social Security number is required for both individuals, unless such number has not been issued.

It is important that you verify all information with your local County Clerk’s office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license.

ID Requirement in New Mexico:

Both applicants must present a current government-issued photo ID.

  • Valid picture ID, such as a valid driver’s license or a valid identification card from the DMV.

  • A valid passport.

  • A Birth Certificate

  • Student ID with Birth Date

Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of New Mexico.

Waiting Period in New Mexico:

None. Marriage licenses are issued and valid immediately.

Previous Marriages:

  • Neither applicants may be bound by marriage to another

  • Proof of divorce is NOT required

Marriage License Fee:

The marriage license fee is $25 to get married in New Mexico. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.

Blood test in New Mexico:

No blood test requirement.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Under 18:

Identification is required of both parties. Each marriage applicant must also show their Social Security number. The following documents will be accepted:

  • Age – Under 16
    • A district court order is required (no alternative) for individuals under the age of 16, along with the documents listed above.

  • Age – 16 and 17
    • A minor the age of sixteen (16) or seventeen (17) years must provide a certified birth certificate from the state or country they were born in.

    • Both parents if living who are shown on the minor’s birth certificate must sign a written consent allowing the minor to apply for the marriage license. A written consent may be provided in person at the Clerk’s Office, or if not in person, through a notarized statement.

    • If one parent is deceased, a certified copy of the death certificate must be provided.

    • A parent signing the consent form in person must present current photo identification that shows their name as matching their name on the birth certificate.

    • If one parent is unable or unwilling to sign the consent form, then the minor must obtain an authorization to marry from the district court and provide a certified copy of the court order authorizing marriage to the County Clerk for filing.

  • Age – 18 and over
    • All individuals must provide either a valid government-issued form of identification with photo, name and date of birth, or a valid passport.

Proxy Marriages:


Cousin Marriages:


Common Law Marriages:


Same Sex Marriages:


Solemnize Marriages:

Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and justices of the peace.

License Validity Time:

  • The marriage license has No expiration. (The license never expires!)

  • The license is valid for a ceremony taking place anywhere within the State of New Mexico.

  • The signed license must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office within ninety (90) days of the ceremony.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Vital Statistics
New Mexico Health Services Division
P.O. Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM 87502
Ph: 505.827.2338

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Additional information can be found on the New Mexico Secretary of State website.