United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status

 

     

Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  Indiana  »  Indiana State, IN


Indiana State, IN

State of Indiana
Application Process

  • The marriage license fee is $18 if one or both parties are Indiana residents and $60 for out-of-state residents. Some offices also charge an additional document fee of $2 (most counties require these fees to be paid in cash).

  • To be married in the State of Indiana, a couple must have a marriage license.

  • To apply for a marriage license in Indiana, both you and your future spouse must appear in person at the Clerk’s Office in an Indiana county where one of you resides, or for non-residents in the Indiana county where the marriage will be solemnized.

  • Applicants must be age 18 years or older.

  • Both applicants must come to apply at the same time.

  • Both applicants must be present at the time of application with a valid driver’s license or a state identification card, for proof of residency, identity, and date of birth.

  • License is good for 60 days.


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.


Adams Allen
Bartholomew Benton
Blackford Boone
Brown Carroll
Cass Clark
Clay Clinton
Crawford Daviess
Dearborn Decatur
Dekalb Delaware
Dubois Elkhart
Fayette Floyd
Fountain Franklin
Fulton Gibson
Grant Greene
Hamilton Hancock
Harrison Hendricks
Henry Howard
Huntington Jackson
Jasper Jay
Jefferson Jennings
Johnson knox
kosciusko Lagrange
Lake Laporte
Lawrence Madison
Marion Marshall
Martin Miami
Monroe Montgomery
Morgan Newton
Noble Ohio
Orange Owen
Parke Perry
Pike Porter
Posey Pulaski
Putnam Randolph
Ripley Rush
St. Joseph Scott
Shelby Spencer
Starke Steuben
Sullivan Switzerland
tippecanoe Tipton
Union Vanderburgh
Vermillion Vigo
Wabash Warren
Warrick Washington
Wayne Wells
White Whitley


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.



Application:

  • Applications must be at least 18 years of age.

  • Both applicants must be present at the time of application with a valid driver’s license or a state identification card, for proof of residency, identity, and date of birth.

  • You will also be required to provide your Social Security Number, although your Social Security Card may not be required.

  • You will need to provide the following for both parents:

    • Full Name, Last known address, Birthplace (state or foreign country)

  • Bring your fee: Indiana residents pay $18; residents of other states or countries pay $60 cash (only).

  • Once the license is obtained, Indiana residents may be married anywhere in the state of Indiana.

  • The records will be recorded in whatever county you applied in.



ID Requirement in Indiana:

Be sure to bring one of the following forms of identification to prove your identity and date of birth:

  • Current, valid drivers license or state-issued ID card

  • Passport

  • Birth Certificate

Indiana state law (IC 31-11-4-6) includes “any written evidence of the individual’s date of birth that is satisfactory to the clerk.” In addition, if this documentation is in any language other than English, it may be necessary to have it translated and notarized before submitting it to the clerk.


Because local policies vary by county, please contact your local Clerk’s Office in advance to ensure you have all the required documents.



Waiting Period in Indiana:

There is no waiting period for the marriage license. You receive it the same day that you apply.



Residency Requirement:



Previous Marriages:

If you were previously married, you will need to provide the month and year each ended, as well as how each ended (some counties may require copies of divorce decrees for marriages that ended less than two years ago)



Marriage License Fees in Indiana:

The marriage license fee is $18 if one or both parties are Indiana residents and $60 for out-of-state residents. Some offices also charge an additional document fee of $2. Each copy of the Certified Marriage License (required for name change at BMV, SSN, etc.) is also $2. Most counties require these fees to be paid in cash.



Proxy Marriages:

No.



Cousin Marriages:

Yes. Marriage between first cousins is permitted if both individuals are at least sixty-five (65) years of age.



Common Law Marriages:

No. Indiana does recognize common law marriages legalized by another state.



Blood test in Indiana:

No other tests are required in Indiana to get married.



Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.



Under 18:

Any minor wanting to get married must bring a certified copy of a birth certificate.

  • If you are 17 years old you must apply for the license with both parents parents or legal guardians — they need to sign the consent part of the application.

  • If an applicant is either 16 or 15 years of age, a different process must be followed. This person must petition the Circuit Court via a “Permission to Marry” form. This is done as a way of getting the court’s permission to marry. The cost for filing this court document is $124—and that fee is not refundable, even if the judge decides against letting the minor marry.



Officiants in Indiana:

Marriages may be performed by a member of the clergy (including a minister, priest, bishop, rabbi, and imam), a judge, a magistrate, mayor, a clerk of the circuit court, or a clerk or clerk-treasurer of a city or town.



Witnesses:

No, this is no longer required.



License Validity Time:

  • Indiana marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued.

  • The records will be recorded in whatever county you applied in.

  • Couples who do not marry within the 60 days must apply for a new license before marrying.



Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Vital Records Section
State Department of Health
2 North Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Ph: 317.233.2700


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Indiana marriage license laws please visit www.in.gov.