United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status

 

     

Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  Idaho  »  Idaho State, ID


Idaho State, ID

State of Idaho
Application Process

  • Idaho marriage license fee marriage license varies by county and is required at the time of application. Most county Clerk/Recorders do not take checks or cards. (Some counties charge up to $20 more on Saturdays.)

  • Marriage licenses in Idaho are issued by county Clerk/Recorders. To obtain your marriage license, both parties must be 18 or older and appear at the Recorder’s office in person together. You can get a marriage license in any county in Idaho and get married anywhere in Idaho.

  • Both applicants must be 18 years of age and older.

  • Both applicants must apply together in person.

  • Both applicants must have valid government issued photo ID with date of birth listed.

  • Know your social security number.

  • There is no expiration date on the license.

  • The license will be recorded in the county in which you purchase it.


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.



Ada Adams
Bannock BearLake
Benewah Bingham
Blaine Boise
Bonner Bonneville
Boundary Butte
Camas Canyon
Caribou Cassia
Clark Clearwater
County Custer
Elbert Elmore
Franklin Fremont
Gem Gooding
Idaho Jefferson
Jerome Kootenai
Latah Lemhi
Lewis Lincoln
Madison Minidoka
Nez Perce Oneida
Owyhee Payette
Power Shoshone
Teton Twin Falls
Valley Washington


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now!24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.



Application:

  • Both applicants must be 18 years of age and older.

  • Both applicants must appear together at a County Recorder’s Office.

  • Both applicants must be prepared to give their Social Security number. Non-U.S. residents should bring identification from the country in which they are a citizen. No SSN? Obtain a letter from the nearest Social Security Office.

  • Fill out marriage license application forms.

  • Bring your fee in cash (only)

  • Both parties must read an AIDS information sheet and sign the Marriage License Affidavit.



Proof of Identity and Age:

  • Original birth certificate or a certified copy

  • Current driver’s license

  • Passport

  • State-issued identification card



Waiting Period in Idaho:

There is no waiting period before using the license; you may get married the same day.



Residency Requirement:

You do not need to be a resident of Idaho to obtain an Idaho marriage license.



Previous Marriages:

If divorced, you need to know the date the divorce was final. (Month, Day & Year)



Marriage License Fees in Idaho:

Idaho marriage license fee is approximately $30 in cash. Most county Clerk/Recorders do not take checks or cards. (Fee varies by county. Some counties charge up to $20 more on Saturdays.)




Proxy Marriages:

No.



Cousin Marriages:

No.



Common Law Marriages:

No.



Blood test in Idaho:

No. Blood tests are not required.



Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.



Under 18:

  • 16 and 17-year-old applicants must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, or have a notarized statement signed by their parent or guardian. (Legal guardians will need to show a certified copy of their appointment of guardianship.)

  • If applicant is under 16 years of age, they will need parental consent in the form of a notarized statement and permission must be obtained from the Court.



Officiants in Idaho:

Priests or ministers of any denomination, and judges, or other designated officials, i.e., mayor or governor may perform weddings.



Witnesses:

No. Witnesses are not required.



License Validity Time:

  • There is no expiration date on the license. If not used within a year, please contact the office of the Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics.

  • Idaho State marriage license is only valid in Idaho.



Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
450 W. State St., 1st Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Ph: 208.334.5988
Fx: 208.389.9096


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Idaho marriage license laws please visit www.idaho.gov.