United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location



Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  Florida  »  Florida State, FL

Florida State, FL

State of Florida
Application Process

  • The fee for a marriage license is $93.50 and there is a three (3) day waiting period for Florida residents; there is no waiting period for non-residents.

    Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course and can provide completion certificates will only be required to pay $61.00 and the three (3) day waiting period will be waived.

  • Couples wishing to be married in the state of Florida must obtain for a marriage license. Marriage licenses are issued by counties and you can apply for your license at any County Clerk’s Office.

  • Both parties are to appear in the Clerk’s Office and sign the application.

  • The legal age for marriage without parental consent is eighteen (18) years of age.

  • The legal age for marriage, with parent’s consent, is sixteen (16).

  • Photo ID (Driver’s License, Passport or State ID with picture)

  • Both parties must be prepared to give their Social Security number.

  • No blood tests are required.

  • Marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance.

  • You can get married in any county in Florida, regardless of where you obtained your marriage license.

Be sure to contact your local County Clerk’s Office well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the Clerk will be in the office. Some locales will require an appointment.

Alachua Baker
Bay Bradford
Brevard Broward
Calhoun Charlotte
Citrus Clay
Collier Columbia
Miami-Dade DeSoto
Dixie Duval
Escambia Flagler
Franklin Gadsden
Gilchrist Glades
Gulf Hamilton
Hardee Hendry
Hernando Highlands
Hillsborough Holmes
Indian River Jackson
Jefferson Lafayette
Lake Lee
Leon Levy
Liberty Madison
Manatee Marion
Martin Monroe
Nassau Okaloosa
Okeechobee Orange
Osceola Palm Beach
Pasco Pinellas
Polk Putnam
St. Johns St. Lucie
Santa Rosa Sarasota
Seminole Sumter
Suwannee Taylor
Union Volusia
Wakulla Walton

Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


  • Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age to apply without parental consent.

  • If either applicant is under the age of 18 years but at least 16 years of age, a birth certificate and proof of identification is required, along with notarized written consent form of the parents or guardian.

  • Applicants under 16 years of age must obtain a determination from a County Court Judge.

  • A blood test is not required.

  • A $93.50 fee is required at time of marriage license application.

  • When applying for a marriage license, upon furnishing a valid certificate of completion from a premarital course conducted by a registered premarital provider the application fee shall be reduced from $93.50 to $61.00.

  • A printed copy of the premarital course completion certificate must be presented to the Clerk of the Circuit Court for filing to receive the application fee reduction.

  • Both applicants must also read the “Family Law Handbook”. This is required by law.

It is important that you verify all information with your local County Clerk’s Office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license.

ID Requirement in Florida:

  • Photo identification (such as a driver’s license, state ID card, or valid passport or I-94 card.)

  • Both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide their Social Security Cards.

  • You may be asked for a certified copy of your birth certificate.

Waiting Period in Florida:

Florida Residents have a 3 day waiting period unless they meet the following criteria:

  • If both parties are Florida Residents and have attended a 4 hour pre-marital course, they do not have a three day waiting period. Each applicant must provide proof of course completion when applying for the marriage license. The course provider must list the hours completed for the counseling and the letter must be presented on the company/church letterhead.

  • All area course providers must be registered with the County Clerk of Courts per Florida Statute 741.0305 (5).

  • If both parties are non-Florida Residents, you do not need to provide proof of pre-marital counseling. As non-residents of the State of Florida, you do not have a waiting period. However, all couples that apply for a marriage license must read the Family Law Handbook.

  • Additionally, both residents and non-residents of Florida may receive a $32.50 discount on their marriage license by completing a premarital course. The course must be completed no more than one year prior to the date of application for a marriage license. Both parties must attend the course and, once again, a certificate of completion must be presented at the time of application to be eligible for the discount.

Residency Requirement:

There is no residency or citizenship requirement to apply for a Florida marriage license.

Previous Marriages:

If you have been previously married, the date of your divorce or date of your spouse’s death must be supplied. If the divorce or spouse’s death occurred within the past 30 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate is required.

Blood Test in Florida:

No. Blood Tests are not required.

Marriage License Fees:

The standard fee for a marriage license is $93.50. The reduced fee for applicants (Florida residents only) who have completed course attendance is $61.00. Preferred method of payment is cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.

Marriage Preparation Course:

  • As of January 1, 1999, Florida residents who take a marriage preparation course offered by an approved provider can receive certain privileges. If both members of the couple are Florida residents, you will receive a $32.50 discount on the marriage license fee. In addition, the three-day waiting period will be waived. Both partners must prove that they took the course within the last twelve months.

  • A certificate of completion of an approved marriage preparation course given by a qualified instructor will be accepted as proof. Also, a letter from an official representative of a religious institution recognized under the Florida Statute will be accepted. This letter should be on the clergy member’s official stationery.

  • Non-Florida residents are not entitled to the fee reduction for taking an approved marriage preparation course. They must pay the entire fee $93.50. However, if they have taken an accepted marriage preparation course, the three-day waiting period will be waived.

Proxy Marriages:


Cousin Marriages:


Common Law Marriages:


Same Sex Marriages:

Yes, same-sex couples can get married in Florida as of January 6, 2015.

Under 18:

  • The legal age for marriage without parental consent is eighteen (18) years of age.

  • The legal age for marriage, with parent’s consent, is sixteen (16).

  • The marriage application may not be issued, for anyone under the age of sixteen, unless the bride has a doctor’s certification that she is pregnant. At that time, both the groom and bride will sign the affidavit stating that they are the parents of an expected child, and the parent(s) will sign consent(s) to the marriage.

  • If the bride has a doctor certificate of pregnancy, whether or not the parents consent to the marriage, a hearing will be held before the county judge with proper notice to the parent(s).

  • A minor who has been previously married may also apply for a license.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Officiants in Florida:

Any ordained or licensed clergy, notary publics, and justices of the peace.


Witnesses are not required in the State of Florida.

License Validity Time:

  • Marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance.

  • You must perform the ceremony of marriage before this 60 days has expired.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Department of Children and Families
Division of Vital Statistics
P. O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
Ph: 904.359.6955

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Florida marriage license laws please visit www.dos.myflorida.com.