United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status

 

     

Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  Delaware  »  Delaware State, DE


Delaware State, DE

State of Delaware
Application Process

  • The marriage license fee is $50 if at least one of the applicants is a Delaware resident. It is $100 if neither applicant is a Delaware resident.

  • Both applicants must apply for the license in person with the county clerk at their county clerk of the peace office.

  • Applicants must be at least eighteen years of age to apply for a marriage license.

  • Both applicants must appear together with I.D.

  • If applicants have previously been married, an original or certified copy of the divorce decree, legal annulment, dissolution, or death certificate is required.

  • No blood test is required.

  • The waiting period is 24 hours (based on time of application) for all applicants, online and in-person.

  • Marriage licenses are valid for 30 days.


Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


Kent New Castle
Sussex



Application:

  • Applicants must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license.

  • Both applicants must appear together with I.D.

  • Applicants may not be related to each other.

  • If applicants have previously been married, an original or certified copy of the divorce decree, legal annulment, dissolution, or death certificate is required.

  • If a female applicant is divorced and legally reclaimed her maiden name, we require the original, true copy or a certified copy of the name change court papers.

  • If either applicant requires an interpreter, they must provide their own. The interpreter must be at least eighteen years of age.

  • If either applicant is on probation or parole, they must have written permission to marry from their probation or parole officer.

  • Applicants must not be under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

  • Filing fee of $50 for residents and $100 non-residents.



ID Requirement in Delaware:

  • A valid state I.D.

  • A valid federal Driver’s License

  • Passport

  • U.S. Visa I.D. card

  • Military I.D.

  • Government consulate I.D.



Waiting Period in Delaware:

Persons intending to be married within this state shall obtain a marriage license at least 24 hours prior to the time of the ceremony. This applies to residents as well as non-residents.



Residency Requirement:

You do not have to be a resident of Delaware.



Previous Marriages:

  • If either applicant has been married and the marriage was terminated by divorce or annulment, we require the last divorce or annulment decree. It must be signed by a Judge and bear a seal indicating that it is the original, true copy or a certified copy.

  • If either applicant has been married and the marriage was terminated by death, we require the original, true copy or a certified copy of the death certificate.



Marriage License Fees Delaware:

The marriage license fee is $50 if at least one of the applicants is a Delaware resident. It is $100 if neither applicant is a Delaware resident.




Proxy Marriages:

No.



Cousin Marriages:

No.



Common Law Marriages:

No.



Blood test in Delaware:

No blood test is required.



Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.



Under 18:

You must be at least eighteen years of age to apply for a marriage license. If either applicant is under the age of eighteen, they are considered minors. Minors must petition Delaware Family Court for authorization to marry.



Officiants in Delaware:

Any ordained minister, and clerks of the peace.



Witnesses:

Two witnesses are required, at least 18 years of age, at the time of the ceremony.



License Validity Time:

Marriage licenses are valid for 30 days, and the ceremony must take place in Delaware.



Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Office of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE 19903


Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding Delaware marriage license records please visit www.delaware.gov.