United States

Show By States

Search Near By Location

DMCA.com Protection Status



Marriage Licenses  »  Marriage License  »  California  »  County Clerk  »  Tehama County, CA

Tehama County, CA

Tehama County
Application Process

Public license Fee: $64
Confidential License Fee: $64

633 Washington St., Rm. 11
Red Bluff, Ca 96080
Ph: 530.527.3350
Fx: 530.527.1745
8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F

(except for Court Approved Holidays)

Local Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. You choose the best Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.


To obtain a marriage license, both the Party A and Party B must appear together at the County Clerk & Recorder’s Office.

There are two different types of marriage licenses in California, and they can be obtained in two different ways.

Confidential Marriage License and a Public Marriage License:

  • A “public” California marriage license is a marriage license that is available to the public for viewing.
  • A “confidential” marriage license allows all the personal information on a marriage license to be protected from public view. Only a court order or a notarized application by either spouses can obtain a copy of the information.

The following information is required on a marriage license application.

For both spouses, or party A and party B, the information needed for marriage license requirements is below.

  • A valid driver’s license or a DMV issued Identification Card. If you do not have either of these, you must provide
    a certified copy of your birth certificate and another acceptable form of picture I.D.

  • To obtain a Confidential Marriage License, party A and party B must be living together as a married couple. The same I.D. requirements as mentioned above are applicable.

ID Requirement:

Valid photo I.D. is required (e.g., drivers license, military I.D., passport, or green card, etc.)

Waiting Period in California:

There is no waiting period. You will receive your marriage license immediately after you submit your application.

Residency Requirement:

You do not need to be a California resident to marry in Tehama County.

Previous Marriages:

If either party has been granted a dissolution of marriage within 90 days of applying for a new marriage license, a copy of the final dissolution decree must be presented at the time of the issuance of the license.

Marriage License Fees:

It will cost you $64 for a public license. Preferred method of payment is by cash. For guidance on additional methods of payment, please call ahead.

Proxy Marriages:

Marriage by proxy is NOT allowed in California. Family Code, Section 420(a), requires the two parties, marriage officiant and witness if applicable be physically present together in the same location for the marriage to be performed.

Cousin Marriages:


Common Law Marriages:


Blood test in California:

Blood tests are NOT required to obtain a marriage license in California.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.

Under 18:

If either Party A or Party B is under the age of 18 years of age, written consent, counseling and an order of the Court is required before a license can be issued. Call the office of the County Recorder at (530) 527-3350 for more information.

Officiants in California:

California Family Code, Section 400 states the persons authorized to solemnize marriage ceremonies in California are as follows:

  • A priest, minister, or rabbi of any religious denomination.

  • A judge or retired judge, commissioner of civil marriages or retired commissioner of civil marriages, commissioner or retired commissioner, or assistant commissioner of a court of record in this state.

  • A judge or magistrate who has resigned from office.

  • Any of the following judges or magistrates of the United States.

  • A justice or retired justice of the United States Supreme Court.

  • A judge or retired judge of a court of appeals, a district court, or a court created by an act of Congress the judges of which are entitled to hold office during good behavior.

  • A judge or retired judge of a bankruptcy court or a tax court.

  • A United States magistrate or retired magistrate.

  • A legislator or constitutional officer of this state or a member of Congress who represents a district within this state, while that person holds office.

  • The person solemnizing the marriage must return the original marriage license to the County Clerk or County Recorder as applicable within 10 days of the date of the ceremony. Addresses should be on the county site.

    You will NOT receive a copy of your marriage license after you have been married unless you request and pay for a certified copy from the County Clerk or County Recorder as applicable.

    ALL information on the marriage license MUST be legible, unambiguous and reproducible. DO NOT change any information on the license, cross out information, use white out, etc., as that will require the payment for and issuance of a duplicate marriage license. Contact the County Clerk’s Office if you have questions about completing the marriage license and/or incorrect information contained on the marriage license.


    The public marriage license requires the signature of one witness,
    and if desired, has a place for an additional witness. No more than two
    witnesses may sign on the public marriage license. Only one signature
    per line is allowed. No witnesses may sign on the confidential marriage

    License Validity Time:

    • Marriage licenses are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance. If you do
      not get married within 90 days, the license will no longer be valid. You must
      purchase a new license.
    • Public Marriage License can be used throughout the state of California.
    • Confidential Marriage License can be used throughout the state of California (Effective January 1, 2015).

    Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

    California birth, death, fetal death, still birth, marriage and divorce records are maintained by the California Department of Public Health Vital Records.

    Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. For more information regarding California marriage license laws please visit www.co.tehama.ca.us.